Business Writing: Find articles on careers
To find journal articles on your career, try looking in a database appropriate to your subject area. You can find recommended databases for your subject on the Wright State University Libraries Subject List of Databases page. The Vocational and Career Collection is a database of mostly trade journals, so you could try that database to find articles by people working in a particular profession. If you aren't sure where to start, try searching Academic Search Complete for your career and the following search phrase: ("vocational guidance" or occupations, or "career development"). Copy and paste the entire phrase, including the parentheses. For example, if you want articles about careers in pharmaceutical sales, use the following search: pharmaceutical sales and ("vocational guidance" or occupations or "career development").
Article Databases
For additional databases, refer to the library's Alphabetical List of All Databases.
- Communication & Mass Media Complete This link opens in a new windowIndex, abstracts, and full text for journals in communication and mass media.
- Business Source Complete This link opens in a new windowProvides abstracts for articles from over 3,200 business-related publications, including academic, professional and trade journals. Good source for articles on public relations and marketing.
- Arts and Humanities Citation Index This link opens in a new windowA multidisciplinary database covering the journal literature of the arts and humanities. Once you've connected, check the box at the bottom of the page to search the Social Science Citation Index at the same time.
- MLA International Bibliography This link opens in a new window
Comprehensive index of critical, scholarly material in literature, criticism, drama, language, linguistics, humanities, and folklore. Worldwide coverage includes articles chosen from over 3,500 journals, monographs, dissertations, bibliographies, and proceedings. Also known as the Modern Language Association International Bibliography. Links to full-text when available.
- Google Scholar This link opens in a new windowIf you're off campus, log in. Don't buy anything Google tries to sell you. You can usually get any articles or books for free from our library.
News Sources
- Factiva This link opens in a new windowFull-text newspapers, newswires, company reports, historical market data, and other business sources.
- Newspaper Source This link opens in a new window
Search the full-text for regional U.S. newspapers and national and international newspapers, newswires, and TV and radio news transcripts. Several national and many regional news sources are included full-text. Abstracts of articles from The New York Times and The Wall Street Journal - Eastern Edition are also available.
- Access World News This link opens in a new window
Access World News is a comprehensive resource that includes news publications from around the world. These sources include major national and international newspapers, as well as local and regional titles. Access World News is updated daily to keep students informed of current issues and events, and it includes deep archives that provide background information on important topics, enabling students to trace an issue or event over a period of time.
Getting materials we don't have in our library
Note: When you use the Find It! button and it can’t find a full-text version, it doesn’t mean that we don’t have the actual hard copy of the journal in our library. Check the box that lists Dunbar’s holdings. Then look up your journal title and check the dates to see if it’s here. You can’t check out an entire volume, but you can make copies of the articles.
Interlibrary Loan (ILL): delivery time depends upon availability.
- Use your W# and password to login.
- For an article, click "Request an Article" and fill in all information, being especially careful to list all inclusive page numbers.
- Once you’ve logged in, from any database Find It! page, you can click "Request via Interlibrary Loan" and it will automatically populate the important fields for you. You should still check page numbers to be sure it lists all the page numbers you need.
OhioLINK: usually takes 3-5 working days
- From your search screen (including screens with no results), click OhioLINK Central. This will now run the search in the OhioLINK catalog.
- From the OhioLINK record, click Request Item. You will be prompted for your identification information and a pick-up location.
Where can I get this?
| Document | Process |
| An article that is not available full-text in the database I’m using. | Click the “Find It!” button to see if it’s available in a different database. If so, click the link. If not, see the record for print holdings. |
| An article that is not available full-text in a database but is available in a print journal in Dunbar Library. | Visit the Journals area on the second floor of the library and make a copy. |
| An article that is not available full-text in a database but is available in a print journal located at the SW Depository. | Request the article using Interlibrary Loan. |
| An article that is not available full-text in a database and is not available in the library. | Request the article using Interlibrary Loan. |
| A book that is not available in our catalog but is available in the OhioLINK catalog. | Request the book from OhioLINK. |
| A book that is not available in our catalog or the OhioLINK catalog. | Check WorldCat and request the book from Interlibrary Loan. |
Questions? Ask a librarian!
Ask Us
Need Help?
- How-To VideosLearn how to navigate and use library resources, including searching, citing, saving, and requesting materials.
- Research ToolkitResearch Toolkit workshops are designed to address the most common challenges students face in doing college-level research, including navigating databases, locating relevant sources, and making sense of information once it is found.
- Ask UsAsk questions via chat, email, or schedule an appointment with your subject librarian.
- Subject LibrariansLearn which librarian specializes in your area of research.