Library of Congress Call Numbers for African and Black Studies
Books focusing on African, African American, and Black Studies can be found in many places throughout the library's main collection, located on the 3rd Floor of Dunbar Library. The list of call numbers below are some of the more concentrated areas of the collection.
DT: African history and general cultures
E 184 - E 185: African American history
HT 601 - HT 1595: Class, race, slavery (general)
PL 8000 - 9000: African literature written or translated from an African language
PR 9205 - 9339: Caribbean and Diaspora literature, not the United States
PR 9340 - 9410: Literature by authors of African heritage written in English
PS: American literature, including African American authors
Reference: Encyclopedias
Encyclopedia of African American Culture and History by Call Number: eBookPublication Date: 2005A five-volume set and supplement covering all aspects of the African-American experience from 1619 to the present day. Using biographies, historical essays, and thematic pieces, many written by foremost scholars, it addresses a wide array of subjects in over 2,300 articles to define in one source the cultural roots, participation in American life, and current condition of the African-American community.
Encyclopedia of African American History, 1896 to the Present by Call Number: Dunbar Reference E185 .E5453 2009Publication Date: 2009Also available as an eBook.
Focusing on the making of African American society from the 1896 "separate but equal" ruling of Plessy v. Ferguson up to the contemporary period, this encyclopedia traces the transition from the Reconstruction Era to the age of Jim Crow, the Harlem Renaissance, the Great Migration, the Brown ruling that overturned Plessy, the Civil Rights Movement, and the ascendant influence of African-American culture on the American cultural landscape.
Encyclopedia of Race and Racism by Call Number: Dunbar Reference E184.A1 E584 2008Publication Date: 2007Also available as an eBook.
Examines the anthropological, sociological, historical, economic, and scientific theories of race and racism in the modem era. Delves into the historic origins of ideas of race and racism and explores their social and scientific consequences. Includes biographies of significant theorists, as well as political and social leaders and notorious racists.
Encyclopedia of African American Education by Call Number: Dunbar Reference LC2771 .E63 2010Publication Date: 2009Also available as an eBook.
Each topic in this 2-volume encyclopedia is discussed as it relates to the education of African Americans. The entries provide a comprehensive overview of educational institutions at every level, from preschool through graduate and professional training, with special attention to historically and predominantly Black colleges and universities.
The Cambridge Guide to African American History by Call Number: eBookPublication Date: 2016This book emphasizes blacks' agency and achievements in the nineteenth and twentieth centuries, notably outcomes of the Civil Rights Movement. To consider the means or strategies that African Americans utilized in pursuing their aspirations and struggles for freedom and equality, readers can consult subjects delineating ideological, institutional, and organizational aspects of black priorities, with tactics of resistance or dissent, over time and place.
Select Print & eBooks
Ensuring Inequality:The Structural Transformation of the African-American Family by Call Number: eBookPublication Date: 2015This revised edition of an award-winning book expands and updates the nuanced historical perspective used in the first edition to understand African American family patterns. The result is a well-documented narrative that challenges conventional understanding of the continuing plight of African American families. The book traces the evolution of the black family from slavery to the present, showing the cumulative effects of centuries of historical change
White Money/Black Power: The Surprising History of African American Studies and the Crisis of Race in Higher Education by Call Number: Dunbar 3rd Floor E184.7 .R66 2006Publication Date: 2006-02-01The history of African American studies is often told as a heroic tale, with compelling images of black power and passionate African American students who refused to take no for an answer. Noliwe M. Rooks argues for the recognition of another story, which proves that many of the programs that survived actually began as a result of white philanthropy. With unflinching honesty, Rooks shows that the only way to create a stable future for African American studies is by confronting its complex past.
Hard White: The Mainstreaming of Racism in American Politics by Call Number: eBookPublication Date: 2020This book analyzes data from a variety of sources to understand the mainstreaming of racism today, putting this research in a historical context.
Of Poetry and Protest: From Emmett Till to Trayvon Martin by Call Number: Dunbar 3rd Floor PS591.N4 O33 2016ISBN: 9780393352733Publication Date: 2016-06-21
Angles of Ascent: A Norton Anthology of Contemporary African American Poetry by Call Number: Dunbar 3rd Floor PS508.N3 A86 2013ISBN: 9780393339406Publication Date: 2013
Ask Us
Questions? Ask a librarian!
Brian Olesko
Contact:
Dunbar Library 120
(937) 775-3022
Subjects: African and African American Studies, Anthropology, Applied Behavioral Sciences, Arabic, Chinese, Communication, Criminal Justice, French, Geography, German, Government Resources, International Studies, Mathematics, Model UN, Modern Languages, Physics, Political Science, Psychology, Regional Studies, Sociology, Spanish, Statistical Data, Tests and Measurements, Urban Affairs, Women, Gender, and Sexuality Studies