Recommended Article Databases
- Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
Get full-text access to magazines, newspapers, and scholarly journals in the sciences, social sciences, business, education, and the humanities. Full-text may be available via Find-It. Useful place to begin broad searches for general topics.
- JSTOR This link opens in a new windowUse the Advanced Search and limit to Classical Studies for the most relevant results. Lots of full text, but not very many recent articles (most 3-5 years old).
- Humanities International Complete This link opens in a new windowScholarly journal articles, book chapters, and more. Since it covers the humanities broadly, it is a good source for interdisciplinary topics.
- Humanities Abstracts This link opens in a new window
Indexes scholarly journals and specialized magazines in a broad range of subjects in the humanities. Content includes feature articles, interviews, obituaries and original works of fiction, drama, and poetry.
- Electronic Journal Center (OhioLINK EJC) This link opens in a new window
Includes full-text journals from several major commercial and society publishers including Elsevier, Springer, and the ACS. Also known as the OhioLINK EJC.
- Humanities with Full Text This link opens in a new window
Indexes scholarly journals and specialized magazines in a broad range of subjects in the humanities. Content includes feature articles, interviews, obituaries and original works of fiction, drama, and poetry. Use this addition of Humanities Abstracts when you need quick access to more full-text articles.
- Arts and Humanities Citation Index This link opens in a new window
This multidisciplinary resource indexes journal literature of the arts and humanities and covers selected items from major science and social science journals. Represented disciplines include archaeology, architecture, art, classics, dance, film, folklore, poetry, history, language, linguistics, poetry, radio, television, and theatre. Search by topic, keyword, or author. Identify articles that cited a previous work. Links to full-text occur when available. Also known as AHCI.
- Cambridge Core This link opens in a new window
Cambridge University Press’ search platform for academic ebook and journal article content. Cambridge Core provides access to over 1.6 million journal articles and 36,000 books.
- Jewish Studies Source This link opens in a new window
Resource of full-text articles covers Jewish civilization from its historical origins to the present. Content comes from many fields including anthropology, area studies, ethnic studies, history, language, philosophy, political science, religion, and women's studies.
- TOCS-INTOCS-IN provides the tables of contents of a selection of Classics, Near Eastern Studies, and Religion journals, both in text format and through a Web search program. Where possible, links are given with articles of which the full text or an abstract is available online (about 15%).
Articles: finding the full text of an article when you have the citation
How would you find the full text for the following citation? This happens most frequently when you look in the footnotes or bibliography of an article--this is a great way to find other sources on your topic as well.
Cole, Richard. "When Gods Become Bureaucrats." Harvard Theological Review 113, no. 2 (April 8, 2020): 186-209.
- Go to the library home page.
- Using quotation marks, type your article title ("When Gods Become Bureaucrats.") in the box. Do not type your journal title in the box.
- If Wright State University owns the access rights to the article you will see a direct link to the pdf. You might also see a yellow "Find It" button below the title. When viewing the bibliographic record the "Find It" button may be on the left side of the page. If Wright State University owns the rights in another subscription database there will be a link in the pop-up window to the full-full text
- If Wright State University does not own access rights to the article you want, you will be presented with an Interlibrary Loan option as the last link. Please take advantage of this option for your research needs.
Evaluating Journals
- Cabells Scholarly Analytics This link opens in a new windowFind publishing opportunities in many academic disciplines. Each entry includes submission guidelines, circulation data, review method, and contact information. The database provides both journalytics and predatory lists of journals. The humanities are poorly represented.
- Journal Citation Reports This link opens in a new window
Evaluate and compare journals using Web of Science social science and science citation data calculated as impact factors.
- Open Access Journal Quality Indicators - Grand Valley State UniversityThe open access landscape is complex. There are thousands of peer-reviewed open access journals, with new titles emerging rapidly using a variety of models. While there are many high-quality, peer-reviewed open access publications, there are also journals/publishers that engage in unprofessional or unethical practices. The following guidelines are intended to help you evaluate open access publications as you consider appropriate publication venues, or invitations to serve as reviewers or editors.
Ask Us
Questions? Ask your librarian!
