Skip to main content

Distance Learning: Articles

This is a guide of general librarian-recommended resources and strategies for distance learning students. Subject and discipline specific resources can be found by using the subject guide for your area of study.

More research guides

Browse all research guides.  (Use this option to find the guide that best fits the class or subject area you need).

Or use these related research guides:

Comments?

Articles: best databases to use

Click on a database name to search it.

Accessing Full Text Articles in the Article Databases

When viewing your search results in many of WSU's databases you will see different links, depending on the availability of the full-text:

 If you see an HTML Full Text or PDF Full Text button, click on that link to download the article immediately.

HTML Full Text icon or PDF full text icon 

If you do not see either of the above buttons, look for a gold button that is labelled "FindIt": Gold FindIt button (also known as External Link icon)

Using the FindIt link allows you to check if Wright State has a subscription.  If WSU does NOT have subscription access, you have the option to request the article free of charge through our interlibrary loan service (see details and registration link below).

Note: Because of variations in database interfaces, the FindIt! button does NOT appear in the same place in every database--and it may not always be gold.  Just look around for a "Full Text" or "Find It" link.  If the button is not found under or near the brief citation you are viewing, you may have to click on the link to view the full citation and/or abstract.

For instance, if you are using PubMed, you have to click on the article title in order to see the FindIt button.  Clicking the title will take you to the complete citation (and sometimes an abstract) of the article. The gold FindIt button, as well as other publisher specific icons, can be found on the right side of this page.  (The publisher icons will work if Wright State has a subscription, but they do not provide the full text if Wright State does not subscribe). 

PubMed example:

Step 1: Click on article title if viewing the results list:

image of PubMed citation with arrow to title link

Step 2: Click FindIt on the resulting citation and abstract page:

image showing where the gold FindIt button is on the PubMed full citation and abstract page />

What if WSU Doesn't Have What I Need?--Interlibrary Loan

Request journal, magazine, newspaper articles and other materials that Wright State or another OhioLINK institution doesn't own through interlibrary loan. This service is free to Wright State University students, faculty, and staff.

To register for interlibrary loan:

1. Click the "First Time Users" link in the navigation bar on the left on the Interlibrary Loan login page.

2. Fill out the registration form as prompted and submit it.  Be sure to choose "Distance Learning Student" as your status.

3. Use your chosen login and password anytime you need to request an article WSU does not own.  You can either fill out the article request form on your own or use the "Request this article through Interlibrary Loan" link under the FindIt button.  The "Request" link under FindIt fills out the request form for you automatically after you login to your interlibrary loan account.

Distance learning students will receive electronic delivery whenever possible. Copies of book chapters and journal articles requested through Interlibrary Loan are generally received at the Wright State University Libraries within 9 days. Expect delivery of those articles or copies of materials owned by the WSU Libraries within 2 working days.

Questions?
Ask your librarian!

Ximena Chrisagis
Contact:
937.775.3516
Website / Blog Page

Ask A Librarian

JavaScript disabled or chat unavailable.