This is the "Home" page of the "Census Data" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Census Data   Tags: census, data, government, statistics  

Last Updated: Apr 1, 2013 URL: http://guides.libraries.wright.edu/census_data Print Guide ShareThis

Home Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

Introduction

The U.S. Bureau of the Census has been collecting data since 1790.  When people think of the Census Bureau, they usually think first of population statistics, but the agency also gathers economic and other data.  See the tabs above for information on those topics.

Because the Census Bureau has collected such enormous amounts of data over the years, it can be overwhelming to try to find out if the data you need are available, and if so, where you can find it.  This guide has tabs that break information down both by time period and by topic. 

Finding Recent Census Data

  • American FactFinder version 2  
      
    American Factfinder includes the 2000 and 2010 Census of Population and Housing, the Economic Census, and the American Community Survey. For the first time, the 2007 Economic Census includes Census Designated Places (CDPs) with 5,000 or more inhabitants or 5,000 or more workers.
  • US Census Bureau  
      
    The most visible role of the Census Bureau is to perform the official decennial (every 10 years) count of people living in the US. The most important result is the reallocation of the number of seats each state is allowed in the House of Representatives, but the results also affect a range of government programs received by each state. The Bureau's web site provides access to a wealth of data and documentation.

Census Bureau Data Compilations

  • Statistical Abstract of the United States
    This annual abstract includes statistics from the Census Bureau, other government agencies, and some private sources. Each table includes source information that can be used to find more detailed statistics. WSU only access.
  • County and City Data Book  
      
    The County and City Data Book is the most comprehensive source of information about the individual counties and cities in the United States. It includes data for all U.S. states, counties, and cities with a population of 25,000 or more. It contains additional data for places with a population of 100,000 or more. Also included is a complete set of state maps showing all counties, places of 25,000 or more population, and metropolitan areas.
  • State and Metropolitan Area Data Book  
      
    The State and Metropolitan Area Data Book features more than 1,500 data items for the United States and individual states, counties and metropolitan areas from a variety of sources.
  • Historical Statistics of the United States  
      
    The standard source for the quantitative facts of American history. Online, WSU students faculty and staff only, authentication required.
 

Data on Individuals

Genealogists and other history researchers are often interested in records for individuals.  Those records are released after 72 years, so the latest information available is through the 1930 census.

Records for local counties are kept in Special Collections and Archives in Dunbar Library.

 

Understanding Census Bureau Terminology

The Census Bureau reports include specialized terminology, as well as some common words used in specialized ways.  The Bureau provides definitions in many places, including in-context links from data pages, special web pages, appendices to printed reports, and printed guides.  Some useful resources are:

  • Definitions and Explanations of Terms provides information for the 2000 decennial census and post-2000 data
  • Glossaries are included in the 1980 and 1990 Decennial Census guides (located on Ref Bookcase 6 on the 2nd floor of Dunbar Library

Go to the Census Geography tab above for information on geographic terminology.

Why Can't I Find...

Some of the reasons you may not find the data you need are:

The question wasn't asked - Looking at the questionnaire that was used to gather data is a simple way to check this.  The Census Bureau includes questionnaires on their websites and in many print publications. 

Confidentiality - the Census Bureau suppresses data that can be identified with a specific individual or business firm.  This usually affects data for small geographic areas.  For more information, see the Confidentiality box below.

The data was not/has not been released - Look for  release schedules.  Examples:

 

SuDoc Classification

Most Census Bureau publications in Dunbar Library are shelved by SuDoc (Supreintendent of Documents) classification number.  This guides includes SuDoc numbers for frequently requested series.  Records in the online catalog also provide the numbers.

SuDoc classification is based on the government agency that issued the publication, so if the agency's place in the government hierarchy changes, the numbers for the agency's publications may also change. 

The Census Bureau's classification prefix has been C 3 for most of its history, but between 1972 and 1975, its publications were given a C 56 classification. 

In Dunbar Library, Census Bureau publications in recurring series that were given C 56 numbers have been reclassified to C 3, so that publications in a series are shelved together in chronological order.

Bibliography of Census Bureau Publications

  • US Census Bureau Catalog and Guide
    Describes data products issued by the Census Bureau. This report also describes programs and services. In addition, it provides abstracts of the publications, maps, CD-ROMs, computer tapes, diskettes, and items on line. The abstracts include the data time, the geographic scope, and the subject content, along with ordering information. Print volumes are available in the Dunbar GovDocs collection: C 3.163/3:
Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip