Make an appointment with a librarian
If you need help researching your topic, make an appointment to work with a librarian. It's free and it's easy! Fill out our appointment request form here: http://www.libraries.wright.edu/services/forms/research/
Dictionaries for Learning English
- Visual English DictionaryAfter connecting to online access, enter a search term or click "Browse this book."
Find Research Topics
Use these resources to get topic ideas or for background information.
- CQ ResearcherIncludes reports on current events and controversial topics. You can browse here for topic ideas or find background information on your chosen topic.
- Sage Reference OnlineContains the full text to 100+ specialized encyclopedias.
- Gale Virtual Reference LibraryElectronic collection of encyclopedias on a variety of topics. Excellent source of background information about concepts, people, places, and events.
Find books
Find articles
- MAS Ultra: School EditionProvides full text from over 515 periodicals covering general reference, health, science, and other areas and includes biographies, primary source documents, pamphlets, and reference books at a high school reading level.
- Middle Search PlusProvides full-text magazine articles, charts, tables, graphs, full-text reference books, encyclopedias, pamphlets, and book reviews at a middle and junior high school reading level.
- Academic Search CompleteIndexes scholarly and popular articles (including magazines and newspapers) on a wide variety of subjects. A good place to start. Lots of full text.
Need help coming up with a topic?
Start with a subject you’re interested in
The best research topics often start in the form of a question about something you are curious to learn more about. Pick something you find interesting. Maybe I’m interested in video games. Notice that this isn't a pre-formed opinion like, “I want to show that video games do not make people more violent.” Starting with a pre-formed opinion often leads to dead-ends when it comes to doing the research and finding the sources to support your argument.
Get enough background info to develop a research question
Video games, in and of itself, is not a good research topic—it’s way too broad. You don't want to try to research everything there is to know or discuss about video games. The next step is to learn enough background information on a topic to understand the jargon used in the field and to understand the current arguments or discussions in order to come up with a good research question. To find that kind of information, use one of these resources:
A quick search for video games in CQ Researcher gets me this very useful report: http://library.cqpress.com/
(You may need to log into CQ Researcher above to authenticate first.)
Notice the report contains lots of background information, tons of citations in the bibliography for other resources I could look up and maybe use in my paper, and even some suggested questions (as section headings) that might make very good research topics, including:
- Are video games addictive?
- Do video games significantly enhance literacy?
- Do video games make kids more violent?
Likewise, if I try a search for video games in Sage Reference Online, I will get a list of results for articles about video games that appear in academic, subject-specific encyclopedias including:
- Encyclopedia of Human Development
- Encyclopedia of the Social and Cultural Foundations of Education
- Encyclopedia of Children, Adolescents, and the Media
Each of those articles on video games will have slightly different perspectives and present different kinds of research questions because each is looking at video games from a different subject area. All have really great sections for further reading that can direct me to books and articles that I could use in my paper.
After reading through the background information, the next step is to formulate a specific research question. Your research question might change as you go and that's OK. Start with something specific though. A good research question for me to start with might be, "Does playing video games make teenage boys more violent?" Once you have a specific question in mind, you can pick out your most important search terms and start searching the databases for news articles and scholarly articles that address that question.
Here's a handout to guide you through the process of coming up with a good research question:
Your Librarian |
Links: Profile & Guides |
Useful Links
- Ask A WSU LibrarianGet online reference assistance.
- Request a Research AppointmentGet one-on-one assistance from a library staff member.
- My Library AccountView and renew materials checked out to you.
- Course ReservesView materials on reserve for your courses.
- OhioLINKSearch library holdings and request materials from all over the state.
- LEAP website
- UCIE website
- WINGS
Mango Language Learning Center
Mango is an online language-learning system that can help you learn languages like Spanish, French, Japanese, Brazilian Portuguese, German, Mandarin Chinese, Greek, Italian, Russian and more. It also offers English language lessons if English is not your first language. If you want to learn on the go, download the free app for Android or Apple devices.
- Mango Language Learning CenterMango Language Learning Center is an online language-learning system. Click the Start Learning button to try it out or create a free Mango profile to log in and track your progress.



Loading...
