Article databases
Use the databases below to find journal articles on composition and rhetoric. For additional databases useful for research in English, see the library's subject list of databases for English. See box below about NCTE journal article access.
- MLA International Bibliography This link opens in a new window
Comprehensive index of critical, scholarly material in literature, criticism, drama, language, linguistics, humanities, and folklore. Worldwide coverage includes articles chosen from over 3,500 journals, monographs, dissertations, bibliographies, and proceedings. Also known as the Modern Language Association International Bibliography. Links to full-text when available.
- ERIC This link opens in a new windowIndexes over 500 education and education-related journals, 2,200 digests, and 500,000 ERIC documents.
- Arts and Humanities Citation Index This link opens in a new windowIndexes 1,100 of the world's leading arts and humanities journals, as well as covering individually selected, relevant items from over 6,800 major science and social science journals. Useful for cited author searches.
NCTE journal article access
Older volumes of most NCTE journals are available electronically through the library's subscription to JSTOR. The library also has print subscriptions to many NCTE journals, including College Composition and Communication, College English, and Teaching English in the Two-Year College. For the journals the library subscribes to in print, electronic access is available by visiting the NCTE website from on campus.
If you are on campus and you go to the NCTE website, you should see this along the RH side of the screen:
YOUR INSTITUTIONAL SUBSCRIPTIONS
College English
English Education
English Journal
Language Arts
Research in the Teaching of English
Teaching English in the Two-Year College
Click through those titles to the issues you want to access the full text from the contents pages.
If you are off campus and go directly to their website, you won't see that notice on the RH side of the screen but can still get access. Instead of going straight to the NCTE site, copy and paste this URL into your browser:
https://ezproxy.libraries.wright.edu/login?url=http://www.ncte.org/journals/rte/issues
You'll be prompted to authenticate and once you've done that you should be passed to the NCTE home page where you should now see the message about YOUR INSTITUTIONAL SUBSCRIPTIONS along the RH side of the screen.
Once you see that, NCTE is recognizing our Wright State University Libraries subscriptions and you can click those links to get to the full text of those journals.
If you are searching in a database like MLA or ERIC and you click the "Find It!" button on an article from the most recent 5 years or so (the content that is not available in JSTOR), it's not going to link you to the electronic version; it's going to say that there is no electronic access and it's going to show you the call number for the print in the library. Just copy the citation information and go through the NCTE website as described above for electronic access.
Questions? Ask a librarian!
Ask Us
Need Help?
- How-To VideosLearn how to navigate and use library resources, including searching, citing, saving, and requesting materials.
- Research ToolkitResearch Toolkit workshops are designed to address the most common challenges students face in doing college-level research, including navigating databases, locating relevant sources, and making sense of information once it is found.
- Ask UsAsk questions via chat, email, or schedule an appointment with your subject librarian.
- Subject LibrariansLearn which librarian specializes in your area of research.