Articles: best databases to use
Click on a database name to search it.
- Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
Get full-text access to magazines, newspapers, and scholarly journals in the sciences, social sciences, business, education, and the humanities. Full-text may be available via Find-It. Useful place to begin broad searches for general topics.
- JSTOR This link opens in a new window
JSTOR contains the complete digitized backfile of core scholarly journals from a broad range of academic disciplines.
- Social Sciences Citation Index This link opens in a new window
This multidisciplinary resource indexes journal literature of the social sciences. Represented disciplines include anthropology, business, communication, criminology, demography, ethnic and racial studies, gender studies, history, law, political science, psychology, religion, social psychology, sociology, social work, and urban studies. Search by topic, keyword, or author. Identify articles that cited a previous work. Links to full-text occur when available. Also known as SSCI.
- Science Citation Index Expanded This link opens in a new window
This multidisciplinary resource indexes journal literature of the sciences. Represented disciplines include astronomy, biochemistry, biology, chemistry, computer science, engineering, genetics, geology, materials science, mathematics, medicine, neuroscience, oncology, pediatrics, pharmacology, physics, psychiatry, veterinary science, and zoology. Search by topic, keyword, or author. Identify articles that cited a previous work. Links to full-text occur when available. Also known as SCI.
- SocINDEX This link opens in a new window
Search extensively indexed books, monographs, and conference papers. This index features citations with subject headings from a sociology-specific thesaurus designed by expert lexicographers. SocINDEX covers all subdisciplines of sociology such as anthropology, criminology, demography, ethnic, racial, and gender studies, marriage, family, and social structures, and social work.
- Environment Complete This link opens in a new windowEnvironment Complete is included in QuickSearch above. Includes such topics as ecosystem ecology, natural resources, geography, pollution & waste management, environmental technology, environmental law, public policy, social impacts, and urban planning. Provides citations and some full text.
- GeoRef Preview Database This link opens in a new windowThe free GeoRef Preview database contains minimal bibliographic references to preprints and unedited papers recently submitted for publication in geological sciences literature. Edited entries are removed from GeoRef Preview and added to GeoRef. The Wright State University Libraries does not currently subscribe to GeoRef, as of Jul 1, 2020.
- GreenFILE This link opens in a new window
A comprehensive research index focuses on literature investigating the relationship between human beings and the environment. Includes scholarly journals, general-interest magazines, and government publications.
- Science Direct This link opens in a new window
Search all journal literature published by Elsevier. ScienceDirect articles are also available in the Electronic Journal Center (OhioLINK EJC). Articles noted by Purchase PDF are not part of the libraries subscription.
- Google Scholar This link opens in a new window
Indexes research literature across a wide range of disciplines and formats. Use the library connection to gScholar to get more attached full-text articles.
- World Wide ScienceMaintained by the US Dept of Energy, WorldWideScience.org is a global science gateway comprised of national and international scientific databases and portals. WorldWideScience.org accelerates scientific discovery and progress by providing one-stop searching of databases from around the world.
Articles: finding the full text of an article when you have the citation
How would you find the full text for the following citation? This happens most frequently when you look in the footnotes or bibliography of an article--this is a great way to find other sources on your topic as well.
Cole, Richard. "When Gods Become Bureaucrats." Harvard Theological Review 113, no. 2 (April 8, 2020): 186-209.
- Go to the library home page and use Quick Search.
- Using quotation marks, type your article title ("When Gods Become Bureaucrats.") in the box. Do not type your journal title in the box.
- If Wright State University Libraries owns the access rights to the article you will see a direct link to the pdf. You might also see a yellow "Find It" button below the title. When viewing the bibliographic record the "Find It" button may be on the left side of the page. If Wright State University owns the access rights in another subscription database there will be a link in the pop-up window to the full text.
- If Wright State University Libraries does not own access rights to the article you want, you will be presented with an Interlibrary Loan option as the last link. Please take advantage of this option for your research needs.
Evaluating Journals
- Cabells Scholarly Analytics This link opens in a new windowFind publishing opportunities in many academic disciplines. Each entry includes submission guidelines, circulation data, review method, and contact information. The database provides both journalytics and predatory lists of journals. The humanities are poorly represented.
- Journal Citation Reports This link opens in a new window
Evaluate and compare journals using Web of Science social science and science citation data calculated as impact factors.
- Open Access Journal Quality Indicators - Grand Valley State UniversityThe open access landscape is complex. There are thousands of peer-reviewed open access journals, with new titles emerging rapidly using a variety of models. While there are many high-quality, peer-reviewed open access publications, there are also journals/publishers that engage in unprofessional or unethical practices. The following guidelines are intended to help you evaluate open access publications as you consider appropriate publication venues, or invitations to serve as reviewers or editors.
Ask Us
Questions? Ask a librarian!
