Classics: Reference Sources

Examines major civilizations that have flourished from antiquity to modern times, with a global perspective and a strong emphasis on daily life and social history. This volume provides in-depth coverage of classical Greek civilization, 800-323 B.C.E

Provides coverage of Greek and Roman history, literature, myth, religion, linguistics, philosophy, law, science, art and archaeology, and topics in near eastern studies and late antiquity

This authoritative A to Z guide features over 700 entries on all aspects of life in Ancient Greece and Rome. Beautiful illustrations, jargon-free entries, and a useful chronology and bibliography make this Companion the perfect guide for readers interested in learning more about the Graeco-Roman world.

The third edition of The Oxford Companion to Classical Literature is the complete and authoritative reference guide to the classical world and its literary heritage. It not only presents the reader with all the essential facts about the authors, tales, and characters from ancient myth and literature, but it also places these details in the wider contexts of the history and society of the Greek and Roman worlds.

This volume presents fourteen of Keith Hopkins' essays on an impressive range of subjects: contraception, demography, economic history, slavery, literacy, imperial power, Roman religion, Early Christianity, and the social and political structures of the ancient world.

The Directory is designed to provide information about every place or feature in the Barrington Atlas. The section for each map comprises: a concise text drawing attention to special difficulties in mapping a region, such as extensive landscape change since antiquity, or uneven modern exploration. a listing of every name and feature on the map, with basic data about the period of occupation, the modern equivalents of ancient placenames, the modern country within which they are located, and brief references to relevant ancient testimony or modern studies. a bibliography of works cited.

In 102 full-color maps spread over 175 pages, the Barrington Atlas re-creates the entire world of the Greeks and Romans from the British Isles to the Indian subcontinent and deep into North Africa.

The sections on the Classical Tradition is uniquely concerned with the long and influential aftermath of antiquity and the process of continuous reinterpretation and revaluation of the ancient heritage, including the history of classical scholarship.

The sections on Antiquity of Brill´s New Pauly are devoted to Greco-Roman antiquity and cover more than two thousand years of history, ranging from the second millennium BC to early medieval Europe. Special emphasis is given to the interaction between Greco-Roman culture on the one hand, and Semitic, Celtic, Germanic, and Slavonic culture, and ancient Judaism, Christianity, and Islam on the other hand.

The Brill Dictionary of Ancient Greek is the English translation of Franco Montanari s Vocabolario della Lingua Greca. With an established reputation as the most important modern dictionary for Ancient Greek, it brings together 140,000 headwords taken from the literature, papyri, inscriptions and other sources of the archaic period up to the 6th Century CE, and occasionally

This Guide, with over 1700 entries and 500 illustrations, is a key reference work on both, covering all the main branches of ancient literature, art and institutions. In addition, it explores traditionally neglected areas such as dress, housing, minority groups and social relations.

A three-volume reference work of 97 original essays on the people, customs, government, religion, and arts of the ancient world, from 2000 B.C. to the fall of Rome in A.D.476.

Jenkins offers a newly revised and expanded annotated bibliography of book-length reference works, covering the rise and fall of the Greek and Roman civilizations from the Bronze Age through the 6th century AD. While preference has been given to English-language works, many important titles in French, German, Italian, and Spanish have also been included.

This major reference work covers Anatolia, Mesopotamia, the Levant, and the Arabian peninsula from the earliest times, through the Old Testament period, until the fall of Babylon to the Persians in 539 B.C.

Provides information on the key places, people, events, and culture of more than five hundred years of Roman history, from the reign of Julius Caesar to the fall of the last Roman emperor in 476 A.D.

A Guide to the Ancient World provides the stories -- from both literature and history -- of nearly 900 ancient places.

This handy reference provides full access to the 1,200 years of Roman rule from the 8th century B.C. to the 5th century A.D., including information that is hard to find and even harder to decipher. Clear, authoritative, and highly organized, Handbook to Life in Ancient Rome provides a unique look at a civilization whose art, literature, law, and engineering influenced the whole of Western Europe throughout the Middle Ages, the Renaissance, and beyond.

This resource strategically traces Greek warfare from 720 to 30 BC and its specific and extensive details-the wars, the troops, the armor, the military tactics, and other factors either affecting or affected by the wars.

Drawn from the acclaimed Oxford Classical Dictionary, The Oxford Dictionary of Classical Myth and Religion offers a fully rounded guide to all aspects of religious life and thought in ancient Greece and Rome.

The world's most authoritative dictionary of Classical Latin, the monumental, two volume Oxford Latin Dictionary offers unsurpassed coverage of the language of Rome from its beginnings until AD 200.

The Pimlico Dictionary of Classical Mythologies is a unique work of reference which breaks new ground by treating for the first time the classical mythologies of the Old World as a whole. Never before have the mythologies of Greece, Rome, Persia, India and China been encompassed in a single volume, despite the fact that the first four have much in common through their Indo-European ancestry.