Find journal articles when you have a topic
- Choose one of the databases listed below.
- Enter search terms in the database search box with AND in between (e.g., enter Greco-Roman AND magic). Try not to use a long search phrase.
- If the database you’re using has a “Find It!” button, click that to see if the full-text is available.
- L'Année PhilologiquePrimary article index to Classics. Includes citations to articles in English. Once you have the citation for an article you want, see the box "Find journal articles when you have a citation."
- JSTORFull text from over a dozen respected scholarly journals in Classics. Focus your search with "Advanced Search."
- Humanities International CompleteProvides full text of hundreds of journals, books and other published sources in the Humanities.
- Arts and Humanities Citation IndexIndexes 1,100 of the world's leading arts and humanities journals, as well as covering individually selected, relevant items from over 6,800 major science and social science journals.
Find journal articles when you have a citation
You may have a citation for an article but not the full text. You can find these citations using L'Année Philologique or by looking at a book or article's notes or bibliography. To find the full text of the article you want, try the following:
- Go to the library catalog title search page.
- Type your journal title (e.g. The Classical Quarterly) in the box. Do not type your article title in the box.
- If WSU owns your journal, see if we have the year, volume, and issue number you need. Note: it might be in electronic form or paper form.
- If WSU doesn’t have the journal you want or doesn’t have the year/volume/issue you need, use Interlibrary Loan.
Citations for articles in Classics journals often include abbreviations rather than the full journal name. Here is UC Berkeley's list of Classics journal acronyms from L'Année Philologique: http://www.lib.berkeley.edu/ARTH/lannee.html
Find Books, Videos, and Recordings
Use the WSU Library Catalog to find books, videos, and recordings.
Tips
- Use AND between search terms
- For encyclopedias and dictionaries, change the "Books & More" drop-down to "Reference"
- For films or recordings, change the "Books & More" drop-down to "Media"
- Be sure to record call numbers and locations, and check availability
- If you can't find what you want in our catalog, try OhioLINK
Encyclopedias, Dictionaries, Atlases
- Paulys Realencyclopädie der Classischen Altertumswissenschaft [Reference DE5 .P33] Multivolume encyclopedia of Classics, written in German. Also see Brill's New Pauly for Antiquity [Reference DE5 .N3513 2002] and the Classical Tradition [Reference DE5 .P33213 2006], written in English.
- Lexicon iconographicum mythologiae classicae (LIMC) [Reference N7760 .L49 1981] Multivolume encyclopedia of Classical Mythology. Multiple languages.
- Cambridge Ancient History, 3rd edition [3rd Floor D57 .C252] Multivolume encyclopedia.
- Griechisches Etymologisches Wörterbuch [Reference PA422 .F7] Multivolume Greek etymological dictionary. Text in German.
- Dictionnaire étymologique de la Langue Grecque [Reference PA422 .C5 2009] Greek etymological dictionary. Text in French.
- Cambridge Dictionary of Classical Civilization [Reference DE5 .C28 2006]
- Guide to the Ancient World: A Dictionary of Classical Place Names [Reference DE25 .G72 1986]
- Civilization of the Ancient Mediterranean: Greece and Rome [Reference DE59 .C55 1988]
- Princeton Encyclopedia of Classical Sites [Reference DE59 .P7]
- Greek-English Lexicon [Reference PA445 .E5 L6 1996]
- A Modern Greek-English and English-Greek Dictionary [Reference PA1139 .E5 G74 1982]
- Oxford Dictionary of Modern Greek: Greek-English and English-Greek [Reference PA1139 .E5 P75 1986]
- Lateinisches Etymologisches Wörterbuch [Reference PA2342 .W23] Multivolume Latin etymological dictionary. Text in German.
- Oxford Latin Dictionary [Reference PA2365 .E5 O9 1982]
- Barrington Atlas of the Greek and Roman World [Reference Atlases G1033 .B3 2000]
To find other reference materials, use the WSU Library Catalog.
- Oxford Classical DictionarySingle volume reference work containing thousands of entries about the ancient world.
- Oxford Dictionary of the Classical WorldContains more than 2,500 entries on the civilizations of ancient Greece and Rome.
- Oxford Companion to Classical Civilization
- Oxford Companion to World Mythology
- Oxford Companion to Classical Literature
- Dictionnaire des Antiquités Grecques et RomainesFrench language dictionary of Classics, important for its coverage of the material culture of antiquity.
Getting materials we don't have in our library
Note: When you use the Find It! button and it can’t find a full-text version, it doesn’t mean that we don’t have the actual hard copy of the journal in our library. Check the box that lists Dunbar’s holdings. Then look up your journal title and check the dates to see if it’s here. You can’t check out an entire volume, but you can make copies of the articles.
Interlibrary Loan (ILLiad): delivery time depends upon availability.
- If you’ve never used ILLiad before, you need to click "First Time Users Please Click Here to Register" and fill out all the required information.
- If you have an ILLiad account, enter your login information.
- For an article, click "Request an Article" and fill in all information, being especially careful to list all inclusive page numbers.
- Once you’ve created an ILLiad account, from any database Find It! page, you can click "Request via Interlibrary Loan" and it will automatically populate the important fields for you. You should still check page numbers to be sure it lists all the page numbers you need.
OhioLINK: usually takes 3-5 working days
- From your search screen (including screens with no results), click OhioLINK Central. This will now run the search in the OhioLINK catalog.
- From the OhioLINK record, click Request Item. You will be prompted for your identification information and a pick-up location.
Where can I get this?
| Document | Process |
| An article that is not available full-text in the database I’m using. | Click the “Find It!” button to see if it’s available in a different database. If so, click the link. If not, see the record for print holdings. |
| An article that is not available full-text in a database but is available in a print journal in Dunbar Library. | Visit the Journals area on the second floor of the library and make a copy. |
| An article that is not available full-text in a database but is available in a print journal located at the SW Depository. | Request the article using Interlibrary Loan (ILLiad). |
| An article that is not available full-text in a database and is not available in the library. | Request the article using Interlibrary Loan (ILLiad). |
| A book that is not available in our catalog but is available in the OhioLINK catalog. | Request the book from OhioLINK. |
| A book that is not available in our catalog or the OhioLINK catalog. | Check WorldCat and request the book from Interlibrary Loan (ILLiad). |
Librarian |
Links: Profile & Guides |
Internet Resources
- Beazley ArchiveArchives on classical archaeology and art. The database contains more than 100,000 images and descriptions.
- Bibliotheca AugustanaIndex of Latin, Greek, English, French, German, and Italian texts. Navigation is primarily in Latin.
- Diotima"An interdisciplinary resource for anyone interested in patterns of gender around the ancient Mediterranean."
- Encyclopaedia of the Hellenic World"Essays in English, Greek, and a dozen other languages on places, persons, topics, and events, complemented by maps, images, and some video and sound files."
- Encyclopedia MythicaInternet encyclopedia of mythology, folklore, and religion.
- Forum RomanumOnline texts on Roman life.
- Internet Classics ArchiveMajor works in original languages and translation.
- Library of Congress list of Internet ResourcesAnnotated list of Internet resources on Classics.
- NestorInternational bibliography of Classics published by University of Cincinnati's Department of Classics.
- Perseus"Information about a digitization project for ancient texts, including full text of classical Greek authors in English translation and the original (romanized) Greek. Includes searchable full text access to the Princeton Encyclopedia of Classical Sites."
- University Of Texas, Austin Classics DepartmentA great place to browse for Classics information
(Recommended by Bruce Laforse, Ph.D)
Additional Databases for Classics
- Greek and Latin InscriptionsCollection of digitized squeezes (accurate paper impressions) of Greek and Latin inscriptions from Greece, Italy, and Macedonia.
- Theatre in VideoMore than 250 definitive performances of the world's leading plays, together with more than 100 film documentaries, online in streaming video.
Primary Sources of Classical Literature
The library has most of the books in the Loeb Classical Library series. Many of these books can be found in the PA section of the library (on the third floor near the middle of the center section).
Also, you can find primary source texts by doing an author or title search in the library catalog.
Oxford English Dictionary
- Oxford English Dictionary (OED)Most complete and authoritative English language dictionary. Best for finding the history of a word.



Loading...
