Oxford Art Online
Contains the Grove Dictionary of Art, the Oxford Companion to Western Art, the Encyclopedia of Aesthetics, and the Concise Oxford Dictionary of Art Terms. Great for introductory articles on artists, periods, styles, and more. Also has links to an art image database.
The Grove Encyclopedia of Classical Art and Architecture
A great resource for students in Greek/Roman art classes.
You find books in catalogs or databases. You can search the Wright State catalog to see what wer have here in the building or in the Southwest Depository. You can also search the OhioLINK catalog if you're having trouble finding books on your topic. If you're searching in the OhioLINK catalog, remember to click on the X OhioLINK libraries have this item link to see if Wright State owns the book before you request it.
You can also find books in a database called WorldCat. WorldCat has all the stuff--books, journals, archives, sound recordings and more!--from most university libraries in the US. If you're looking for a book, be sure to put a check here:
When you get your list of results, check to see if the book is in the Wright State library (the green symbol will be there); if you want to see if it's in OhioLINK or if you can request it via Interlibrary Loan, click the "See more details about locating this item" link.
You will see your options here (click the Find It! button to see if it's in OhioLINK):
Covers Western art articles with some full-text. Entries in the database also list, under the artists' names, any art reproductions used to illustrate articles and advertisements.
Arts & Humanities Citation Index
Has a good feature for finding similar articles.
JSTOR has full text for journals going back to the 19th century and ending only 2-5 years from the present. Focus your search by following these steps:
- When you get to JSTOR's main page, click the "Advanced Search" link below the search box.
- On the search page, type in your keywords and then scroll down to check the boxes next to, for example, Architecture & Architectural History, Art & Art History, and Classical Studies.
- Your results will automatically be sorted by relevance; you also have the option to sort by date.
Humanities International Complete
Another interdisciplinary humanities database.
Bibliography of Asian Studies
Great for finding articles on East, Southeast, and South Asian art.
Citations to publications about the European Middle Ages and Renaissance from 400 - 1700.
Finding the full text of an article when you have the citation
How would you find the full text for the following citation?
Padgett, J. Michael.; Euphronios, fl. ca. 515-460 B.C. “Ajax and Achilles on a calyx-krater by Euphronios.” Record of the Art Museum (Princeton University), v. 60 issue 1, 2001, p. 2-17.
- Go to the library catalog title search page.
- Type your journal title (Record of the Art Museum (Princeton University)) in the box. Do not type your article title in the box.
- If WSU owns your journal, see if we have the year, volume, and issue number you need. Note: it might be in electronic form or paper form.
- If WSU doesn’t have the journal you want or doesn’t have the year/volume/issue you need, use Interlibrary Loan.
Ask A Librarian
A database of 1.4 million high-quality digital images covering art, architecture, and design.
Google Art Project
Virtually explore museums from around the world, including great zoom features. Very fun!
Archives of American Art
Search over 8,000 photographs, letters, sketches, diaries, and other documents from this Smithsonian institution.
Scholarly Journal Articles
See the guide Scholarly Journals vs. Popular Magazine Articles (from the UTSA Library). It outlines criteria for determining whether journals are scholarly or popular and defines what is meant by "scholarly" (a.k.a. refereed or peer-reviewed or academic) journals.
Sometimes it's hard to tell what's scholarly and what's not when you're looking at an online article. Always remember that you can contact me to ask if it is or is not acceptable.