This is the "Home" page of the "Anthropology" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Anthropology   Tags: anthropology, comparative_studies  

Last Updated: May 1, 2013 URL: http://guides.libraries.wright.edu/anthropology Print Guide ShareThis

Home Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

Free Websites

Anthropology Review Database (ARD)
Professors at SUNY Buffalo oversee and edit the publication of signed, scholarly reviews of anthropological literature. The reviews cover books, articles, movies, and other online publications. A great way to keep abreast of current trends in anthropological research.

Division of Anthropology - American Museum of Natural History
Fully searchable database of artifact/ethnographic, archaeological, and photography collections that have photographs of most of the items. There are also finding aids (documents to help you find information in manuscript collections) and an anthropological publications database.

Peabody Museum of Anthropology and Ethnology
Harvard's Peabody Museum has online exhibitions and a searchable collection.

 

Find Articles

Anthropology Plus
Combines Harvard's Anthropological Literature and the Royal Anthropological Institute's Anthropological Index. Covers the fields of social, cultural, physical, biological, and linguistic anthropology, ethnology, archaeology, folklore, material culture, and interdisciplinary studies. Be sure to click the Find It! button to see whether WSU libraries or OhioLINK has the article you want--often you can link directly to the full text.

Social Sciences Citation Index
Broadly covers the social sciences. Very helpful for both Native American and classical archaeology. The Find It! feature is the same here as the database above; additionally, there is a very helpful "related articles" feature that allows you to view similar article citations.

JSTOR
JSTOR has older issues of journals. Many begin in the 19th century and end only 2-5 years from the present. Search just the anthropology/archaeology journals by following these steps:

  1. When you get to JSTOR's main page, click the "Advanced Search" link below the search box.
  2. Type in your keywords and then check the boxes next to Anthropology and Archaeology.
  3. Remember that it may help to also search History if you don't get enough results.

 

Subject Guide

Profile Image
Brian Olesko
Contact Info
228 Paul Laurence Dunbar Library
937.775.3521
Send Email
 

Ask a Librarian

JavaScript disabled or chat unavailable.
Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip