Last Updated: Feb 20, 2013
- The White House
The power of the Executive Branch is vested in the President of the United States, who also acts as head of state and Commander-in-Chief of the armed forces. The President is responsible for implementing and enforcing the laws written by Congress and, to that end, appoints the heads of the federal agencies, including the Cabinet. The Vice President is also part of the Executive Branch, ready to assume the Presidency should the need arise.
- The President's Cabinet
The Cabinet includes the Vice President and the heads of 15 executive departments — the Secretaries of Agriculture, Commerce, Defense, Education, Energy, Health and Human Services, Homeland Security, Housing and Urban Development, Interior, Labor, State, Transportation, Treasury, and Veterans Affairs, as well as the Attorney General.
- Compilation of Presidential Documents
The Compilation of Presidential Documents collection consists of the Weekly Compilation of Presidential Documents and the Daily Compilation of Presidential Documents which are the official publications of materials released by the White House Press Secretary. The Compilation of Presidential Documents is published by the Office of the Federal Register (OFR), National Archives and Records Administration (NARA).
- Public Papers of the Presidents 1991 to present (Online)
The Public Papers of the Presidents, which is compiled and published by the Office of the Federal Register, National Archives and Records Administration, began in 1957 in response to a recommendation of the National Historical Publications Commission.
- Public Papers of the Presidents 1929 to 2007 (Print)
- The American Presidency Project - University of California, Santa Barbara
The American Presidency Project, was established in 1999 as a collaboration between John Woolley and Gerhard Peters at the University of California, Santa Barbara.
Our archives contain 100,509 documents related to the study of the Presidency.
- Presidential Libraries - National Archives
The Presidential Library system is composed of thirteen Presidential Libraries. These facilities are overseen by the Office of Presidential Libraries, in the National Archives and Records Administration.
- Presidential Documents Guide
This guide will help you understand the different types of Presidential documents available to the public and where these documents may be found.
The President's Position
The subtitle of this series describes its contents: Debating the Issues in Pro and Con Primary Documents. The books are available in Dunbar Library.
This series of books, one per Presidential administration, includes historical information and selected primary documents.
Congress and the Nation
Summarizes and analyzes federal legislative and policy activity during each presidential term starting with 1945.