On This Page
Finding and Using Health Statistics | Articles with Healthcare Statistical Data: Best Databases | Preset Catalog Searches | Electronic Books | Books: Wright State University Library Catalog Search | Data Overviews and Links to Multiple Categories of Data | United States | Ohio | International / Global | Sex and Gender Identity | LGBTQIA | Reproductive and Sexual Health | Race and Ethnicity | Aging / Older Adults | HIV /AIDS | Cancer | Diabetes | Disabilities | Injuries | Medical Education | Nursing Education | Health Professions
Visit the Statistical Data guide for other data sources (including raw data sources).
- Raw Data SetsSources with raw data sets for possible use in a statistical program like SPSS, PASW, SAS, or STATA.
Finding and Using Health Statistics
- Finding and Using Health StatisticsA self-paced tutorial from the National Library of Medicine.
Articles with Healthcare Statistical Data: Best Databases
Click on a database name to search it.
- MEDLINE (EBSCO)
Search MEDLINE using the EBSCOhost search interface. Content is citations and abstracts from national and international journals covering all aspects of biomedicine including allied health and other fields as they relate to medicine or healthcare. MEDLINE is produced by the National Library of Medicine (NLM).
- MEDLINE (PubMed) This link opens in a new window
MEDLINE PubMed provides free access to the National Library of Medicine’s (NLM) premier database – MEDLINE. Content is citations and abstracts from national and international journals covering all aspects of biomedicine including allied health and other fields as they relate to medicine or healthcare.
- CINAHL This link opens in a new window
Search journal literature related to nursing and the allied health disciplines. Also contains early-release citations for pre-published journal articles.
- ClinicalKey This link opens in a new window
Collection of fulltext clinical medicine resources from Elsevier. Content includes medical texts, journal articles, Clinical Overviews/First Consult for evidence-based care, clinical guidelines, drug information, videos of clinical procedures (Procedures Consult), images, patient education handouts and more.
- APA PsycINFO This link opens in a new window
Indexes psychology literature and related disciplines including psychiatry, medicine, nursing, pharmacology, cognitive science, and linguistics. Includes journals and book chapters. Use Historic PsycINFO to identify literature published as early as the 1920s. Links occur to full-text when available.
- Web of Science Core Collection This link opens in a new window
This option will search a combination of the Clarivate science, social science, and arts and humanities citation databases, and conference citations in science and social science. This option is useful when searching for highly cited interdisciplinary literature.
- QuickSearch This link opens in a new window
QuickSearch combines results from many search tools for you to review in one list. Results come from the Wright State catalog and hundreds of library databases including all of our Ebscohost databases, JSTOR, the Web of Science, and others.
Preset Catalog Searches
Electronic books
- ClinicalKey This link opens in a new window
Collection of fulltext clinical medicine resources from Elsevier. Content includes medical texts, journal articles, Clinical Overviews/First Consult for evidence-based care, clinical guidelines, drug information, videos of clinical procedures (Procedures Consult), images, patient education handouts and more.
- PsychiatryOnline This link opens in a new window
Read American Psychiatric Association books, journals, and assessment tools. Includes the Diagnostic and Statistical Manual DSM-V and APA practice guidelines.
- Wright State University Library CatalogSearch for books, journals, media, eBooks, and more from the University Libraries
- OhioLINK Electronic Book Center (EBC)Search for e-books from OhioLINK
- NLM BookshelfFrom the National Library of Medicine- provides free access to books and documents in life science and healthcare
Wright State University Library Catalog Search
Data Overviews and Links to Multiple Categories of Data
- Health Statistics-University of Michigan LibraryLinks to statistical health data, mostly from government sources. Includes a data visualizations category. University of Michigan Library.
- Sage Data (Data Planet) This link opens in a new window
Includes local, state, and business statistical categories. Search data series for all U.S. States and the District of Columbia, or by counties, cities, and metropolitan statistical areas down to the zip code level. Download data or use data visualization tools.
United States
- HealthData.gov"This site is dedicated to making high value health data more accessible to entrepreneurs, researchers, and policy makers in the hopes of better health outcomes for all."
- National Healthcare Quality & Disparities ReportsAHRQ (Agency for Healthcare Research & Quality).
- Hospital Statistics by StateFrom the American Hospital Directory's free profiles. The American Hospital Directory® provides data, statistics, and analytics about more than 7,000 hospitals nationwide. AHD.com® hospital information includes both public and private sources such as Medicare claims data, hospital cost reports, and commercial licensors. AHD® is not affiliated with the American Hospital Association (AHA) and is not a source for AHA Data.
Ohio
- Ohio Department of Health: Data & StatisticsVital statistics, diseases and conditions, health surveys, community profiles, maternal and child health.
- State and Territorial DataFrom the National Center for Health Statistics-births, fertility rate, deaths, and death rate.
- Health Policy Institute of OhioAn independent, nonpartisan, statewide center that informs Ohio health policy by forecasting health trends, analyzing key health issues, and communicating current research to policymakers, state agencies and other decision-makers." Numerous data reports are available, including Mapping Health Spending and Insurance Coverage in Ohio.
- National Healthcare Quality Report State Snapshots (AHRQ)"The State Snapshots provide State-specific health care quality information, including strengths, weaknesses, and opportunities for improvement. The goal is to help State officials and their public- and private-sector partners better understand health care quality and disparities in their state."
- Ohio Public Health Data WarehouseOnline tool for accessing most current public health data available. Internet Explorer recommended for full functionality.
International / Global
- United Nations Population Trends (Department of Economic and Social Affairs)Explore population data and trends. Additional population-related links are in the menu on the left.
Sex and Gender Identity
Race and Ethnicity
- Disparities - Indian Health ServiceU.S. Federal Agency Focusing on Native Americans.
- Office of Minority HealthDepartment of Health and Human Services.
- Profile: American Indian / Alaska NativeOffice of Minority Health
- Profile: Asian AmericansOffice of Minority Health
- Profile: Black/African AmericansOffice of Minority Health.
- Profile: Hispanic / LatinoOffice of Minority Health
- Cancer - Race / Ethnicity StatisticsNational Cancer Institute.
LGBTQIA
- Healthcare Equity Index Report 2022: Promoting Equitable and Inclusive Care for Lesbian, Gay, Bisexual, Transgender & Queer Patients and Their FamiliesPublished by the Human Rights Campaign Foundation
- Issue Brief: Health Insurance Coverage and Access to Care for LGBTQ+ Individuals:Current Trends and Key ChallengesASPE Office of Health Policy (June 2021).
- Sexual and Gender Minority ClearinghouseCenters for Medicare and Medicaid Services. A resource to find surveys that include questions about sexual identity, attraction, and behavior. It also includes data on gender identity and household relationships.
- Searching for Quality Resources for Sexual and Gender Minority HealthBlog post with links from the Network of the National Library of Medicine.
Reproductive Health and Sexual Health
- Data Center-Guttmacher InstituteIncludes data and reports on topics such as contraception, abortion, and teen pregnancy. For more information about the Institute's mission, funding sources, and affiliations, please see the links on the left side navigation menu under the "About" section.
- Reproductive and Sexual Health DataHealthy People 2020.
Aging / Older Adults
- Health and Retirement Study (HRS): A Longitudinal Study of Health, Retirement, and Aging (Sponsored by the National Institute on Aging)The University of Michigan Health and Retirement Study (HRS) surveys more than 22,000 Americans over the age of 50 every two years. Supported by the National Institute on Aging (NIA U01AG009740) and the Social Security Administration, the study paints an emerging portrait of an aging America's physical and mental health, insurance coverage, financial status, family support systems, labor market status, and retirement planning.
- Health Data Interactive (National Center for Health Statistics)Health Data Interactive presents tables with national health statistics for infants, children, adolescents, adults, and older adults. Tables can be customized by age, gender, race/ethnicity, and geographic location to explore different trends and patterns.
- Healthy AgingCenters for Disease Control and Prevention. Links to data sources and information about initiatives.
- Alzheimer's Disease and Healthy Aging Data PortalInteractive data tool from the CDC. This page also contains links to Healthy Aging Data Publications.
- Research, Statistics, and Data Systems (CMS)Various links to data from the Centers for Medicare and Medicaid Services.
HIV / AIDS
- AIDSinfoGlobal data on HIV epidemiology and response. A joint collaboration of UNAIDS, UNICEF, and the World Health Organization.
Cancer
- Statistics Related to CancerLinks to databases, web sites, and reports from the National Cancer Institute. Includes the Surveillance, Epidemiology, and End Results Statistics Review (SEER).
- Where Can I Find Cancer Statistics by Race/Ethnicity?Links to surveillance sources from the National Cancer Institute.
- Cancer StatisticsIncludes SEER, Fast Stats, State Cancer Profiles, and other statistical tools and data, as well as links to help with Understanding Cancer Statistics.
- Finding Cancer StatisticsMore links from the National Cancer Institute.
- Cancer Facts and StatisticsAmerican Cancer Society. Includes Cancer Facts and Figures for several years, including the current year.
Diabetes
- Diabetes StatisticsNational Institute of Diabetes and Digestive and Kidney Diseases.
- Diabetes Atlas (International Diabetes Federation)Includes data tables.
- Health Data InteractiveNational Center for Health Statistics. Health conditions section includes data on diabetes from the National Health and Nutrition Examination Survey (NHANES).
Injuries
- Injury FactsNational Safety Council
- Injury Data and ResourcesNational Center of Health Statistics (CDC)
Medical Education
Nursing Education
- AACN Research and DataAmerican Association of Colleges of Nursing. Reports about enrollment, faculty vacancies, ethnicity, and other issues in nursing education. Some links are for members only.
- Nursing Education Statistics-NLN"The graphs illustrate essential data about applications, admissions, enrollment, retention, and graduation rates; and provide a comprehensive demographic profile of the current student population documenting ethnic-racial identity, gender, and age."
Health Professions
- HRSA DataDepartment of Health and Human Services, Health Resources and Services Administration (HSRA). Includes demographic data on the health professions and many other topics.
- Area Health Resources FileThe Area Health Resources Files (AHRF) include data on Health Care Professions, Health Facilities, Population Characteristics, Economics, Health Professions Training, Hospital Utilization, Hospital Expenditures, and Environment at the county, state and national levels, from over 50 data sources.
- Health Workforce ResearchVarious reports from the National Center for Health Workforce Analysis (NCHWA) .
