General Health Information Web Sites
Wright State University Library Catalog Search
Free Online Manuals
- Genetics Home ReferenceFrom the National Library of Medicine. Provides information about genetics in general as well as genetic conditions and disorders.
- Merck Manual Consumer VersionFind information on medical topics, symptoms, drugs, procedures, news and more, written in everyday language.
- Merck Manual Professional VersionFind information on medical topics, symptoms, drugs, procedures, news and more, written for the health care professional.
Articles & More (mostly Wright State subscription resources)
Unless otherwise noted in the description, these resources are Wright State University subscriptions. You must be a current Wright State student, faculty, or staff member to access them, or you must be on campus in the Paul Laurence Dunbar Library using a valid guest computer account. Off campus access is not available to visitors.
- Consumer Health Complete This link opens in a new window
- Health Source - Consumer Edition This link opens in a new window
- Health Source - Nursing/Academic Edition This link opens in a new window
- Alt Health Watch This link opens in a new window
- Psychology & Behavioral Sciences Collection This link opens in a new window
If you need information sources written for health care professionals, please use the resources on the Medicine, Nursing, and Psychology Research Guides linked at the left side of this page.
Ohio Web Library (for Ohio Residents) and Other State Library of Ohio Services
If you are not currently a student, faculty, or staff member at Wright State, but you are an Ohio resident, you have access to a limited number of research databases through the Ohio Web Library, a service of the Ohio Public Library Information Network (OPLIN). Ohio residents can access these resources by computer from any Ohio location. If location services are not enabled or if you are out of state, you can still access these resources by entering a valid card number from an Ohio public library or the State Library of Ohio.
- Ohio Web Library (all available sources)A basic selection of popular and academic online subscription sources covering general interest, health, business, the sciences, and more. Note: Some of the resources are available to all residents regardless of their location or library; others are only available if you have a library card with a library that specifically subscribes to that resource. So, you may not be able to access every resource on this list.
- All EBSCOHost databases available through Ohio Web LibraryCollection includes some full text - general, business, health, and science-related. Select the "Choose Databases" link above the search blank to include or exclude specific databases as you search.
- State Library of Ohio Resident ApplicationOhio Residents Only: Fill out this form to request a card from the state library. The card will be mailed to you.
