Useful websites
HealthFinder
Comprehensive consumer health information from the U.S. Department of Health and Human Services.
MedlinePlus
Comprehensive consumer health information from the National Library of Medicine and the National Institutes of Health.
Genetics Home Reference
From the National Library of Medicine. Provides information about genetics in general as well as genetic conditions and disorders.
Merck Manuals
Healthcare books for medical professionals and consumers, available online.
Find Images
Unless otherwise stated, images on the web are protected by copyright (even if there is no © symbol or other copyright notice). Many sites will state if it is acceptable to use a particular image. When in doubt, assume that you require permission to copy or re-use images from the web.
NIH Photo Galleries: From the National Institutes of Health. Photos on numerous health galleries, some of which are copyrighted, but many of which are labelled as being in the public domain and can be used without permission if the source is credited.
National Cancer Institute Visuals Online: "Except where noted on the image details page, Visuals Online images are in the public domain and may be used, linked, or reproduced without permission. If you use an image, you should credit the listed source and/or author. Some images are copyright protected. If an image is copyright protected, you will have to contact the rights holder to obtain reuse permission. Contact information for reuse is posted on the details page for each copyrighted image."
Public Health Image Library: Same as the resources above.
E-book reference collections
Find books
Find books in the WSU Library catalog:
If you find a book in the catalog that you'd like to check out...
1) Write down the location (some books in the catalog may not be in our building)
2) Write down the call number
If you need any help locating books in the library, ask at the Information Desk on the 2nd floor.
If you are still browsing for a topic, try the Professional Guide to Diseases [Reference RT65 .P69 2009].
Find articles
Health Source Consumer Edition: Authoritative health information for consumers. Includes full-text journal articles, books, and pamphlets.
Health Source Nursing/Academic Edition: Includes full-text journals focusing on health sciences disciplines and clinical care.
Alt-Health Watch: Provides indexing and full text for complementary, alternative, and holistic health care publications.
- PubMedSearches MEDLINE. Covers national and international literature on all aspects of biomedicine, including the allied health fields, the biological and physical sciences, humanities, and information science as they relate to medicine and health care.
- MD ConsultFeatures 39 medical texts and reference books, 59 medical journals, 31 titles in the Year Book series, clinical practice guidelines, drug information, patient education handouts, and medical news updates.
Ask a Librarian
Services for students
- Student Technology Assistance Center (STAC)The STAC provides WSU students an opportunity to create multimedia projects with the help of their peers. It's a free service ONLY for Wright State students!
- Laptops2goWSU students can check out laptops for up to four hours at the Dunbar Library on the second floor.
- Presentation Practice RoomGroups of students assigned to give presentations for their class can check out a key to this room at the Media Desk (2nd floor) in Dunbar Library.



Loading...
