This is the "Medicine" page of the "Medicine" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Medicine   Tags: emergencies, health, medicine, medline, pharmacology, pubmed  

Find specific resources for answering questions about medical topics
Last Updated: Jul 29, 2014 URL: http://guides.libraries.wright.edu/medicine Print Guide

Medicine Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

Medical databases

 

Drug resources

AccessMedicine , AccessEmergency Medicine , AccessSurgery
Prescription and non-prescription drug information easily accessed through an alphabetical listing. Includes full color photos, chemical structure, dosing information, adverse reactions, indications, contradictions, and patient information.

Clinical Pharmacology

Database of U.S. prescription drugs, hard-to-find herbal and nutritional supplements, over-the-counter products and new and investigational drugs, includes patient education materials.

Clinical Pharmacology Mobile

This version of Clinical Pharmacology is available to students, staff, and faculty of Wright State University using an individually assigned access code.  Please contact Bette Sydelko for your individual access code. (bette.sydelko@wright.edu) Then click on Clinical Pharmacology Mobile for directions on getting started.

The Medical Letter on Drugs & Therapeutics

Also included in this subscription is "Treatment Guidelines from the Medical Letter."

MEDLINEplus Drug Information
Drug information from the United States Pharmacopeia (USP) and the American Society of Health-System Pharmacists (ASHP).

Drug Information Portal - Quick Access to Quality Drug Information
Drug information gathered and made freely available by the National Library of Medicine/National Institutes of Health. The portal covers drugs from the time they are entered into clinical trials (Clinicaltrials.gov) through their entry in the U.S. market place (Drugs@FDA.)

 

Images/Videos

AccessMedicine, AccessEmergency Medicine, AccessSurgery - images from all the textbooks are provided in a searchable collection

Wellcome Images - previously known as the Wellcome Trust Medical Photographic Library 

ClinicalKey   - images and videos available to use in PowerPoint presentations, create personal account to use

NEJM - multimedia content available

 

Patient Care Resources

Clinical Evidence

synopses of evidence for treatments of 228 conditions

ClinicalKey - multiformat (books, journals, videos) resource from Elsevier.

Diagnosaurus

differential diagnosis; covers 800 disorders (click on DDX in blue menu bar)

ACP Smart Medicine (formerly ACP PIER)

evidence-based guidelines from the American College of Physicians

 

Selected Websites

Centers for Disease Control and Prevention
Vaccines, Immunizations, Growth Charts, Health Promotion, Emergency Preparedness, Traveler's Health, Public Health, and more.

Dartmouth Atlas of Healthcare
Quoted from website: The Dartmouth Atlas project "uses Medicare data to provide information and analysis about national, regional, and local markets, as well as hospitals and their affiliated physicians. This research has helped policymakers, the media, health care analysts and others improve their understanding of our health care system and forms the foundation for many of the ongoing efforts to improve health and health systems across America."

MedlinePlus®
MedlinePlus is a consumer health oriented database from the National Library of Medicine. Find information about drugs and supplements, an illustrated medical encyclopedia, interactive tutorials, the latest health news, and surgery videos. Spanish version available.

National Center for Health Statistics
Premier source for national health statistics. Find census data.

NLM Gateway
Access to National Library of Medicine databases of information such as Toxline, MedlinePlus, DIRLINE (Directory of Health Organizations), Clinical Trials.gov, OMIN (Online Mendelian Inheritance in Man), etc.

Your Medical Librarian

Profile Image
Bette Sydelko
Contact Info
215 Dunbar Library
937.775.3840
Appointments available upon request
Office Hours: White Hall T,Th 12-3pm
Send Email
 

Your feedback is welcome

Was this information helpful?

How useful is this page?
(1 = Not Useful, 5 = Very Useful!)

Additional comments:


Your Email:


Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip