Browsing Foreign Language Literature
If you'd like to browse texts in a foreign language, see the following call number ranges:
- French literature - PQ1 up to about PQ4000
- Spanish literature - PQ6000 up through the PQ8000s
- Portuguese literature - PQ9000s
- German literature - PT1 through the PT4000s
- Chinese literature - 4th floor collection
Dictionaries
Most print foreign language dictionaries are now available in Dunbar Reference Bookcase 2.
Oxford Reference Online
French, German, and Spanish translation
dictionaries. After connecting, choose "Bilingual Dictionaries."
Larousse Online
French and French-English dictionaries.
Mittelhochdeutsches handwörterbuch
Diccionario Panhispánico de Dudas
Diccionario de la Lengua Española
Anglo-Norman Dictionary
Part of the Anglo-Norman On-Line Hub.
Grand Larousse de la Langue Française en Sept Volumes [Reference Bookcase 2 PC2625 .G7]
Dictionnaire Alphabétique et Analogique de la Langue Française [Reference PC2625 .R552]
Harrap's New Standard French and English Dictionary [Reference PC2640 .H317 1972]
Harrap's Standard German and English Dictionary [Reference PF3640 .H3]
Langenscheidt's New Muret-Sanders Encyclopedic Dictionary of the English and German Languages [Reference Bookcase 2 PF3640 .L257]
Diccionario de Autoridades [Reference PC4625 .A3 1726a]
Diccionario de uso del Español [Reference Bookcase 2 PC4625 .M6 2007]
Find additional print and online dictionaries using the WSU Libraries Catalog.
Streaming Video
The library carries a large selection of feature films in foreign languages. To find DVDs and VHS tapes in the Media Collection, use the WSU Library Catalog.
- Theatre in VideoMore than 250 definitive performances of the world's leading plays, together with more than 100 film documentaries, online in streaming video.
- OhioLINK Digital Video CollectionBrowse titles in the Literature & Language Arts subject or try a keyword search for an author's name (e.g., Shakespeare, Beckett, or Ibsen.)
- Foreign Language VideosNative speakers talking about their everyday lives. Video clips under five minutes long. Spanish, French, German, Arabic (Classical), Chinese (Mandarin), Russian, and Swahili.
Mango Language Learning Center
Mango is an online language-learning system that can help you learn languages like Spanish, French, Japanese, Brazilian Portuguese, German, Mandarin Chinese, Greek, Italian, Russian and more. It also offers English language lessons if English is not your first language. If you want to learn on the go, download the free app for Android or Apple devices.
- Mango Language Learning CenterMango Language Learning Center is an online language-learning system. Click the Start Learning button to try it out or create a free Mango profile to log in and track your progress.
Information on Countries and Cultures
For additional resources, see Reference Bookcase 5.
- Europa World PlusCovers political and economic information in more than 250 countries and territories.
- CIA World Fact BookProvides information on the history, people, government, economy, geography, communications, transportation, military, and transnational issues for 266 world entities.
- Countries and Their CulturesPresents the cultural similarities within a country that set it apart from others by examining over 200 countries. Search by country.
- Encyclopedia of World CulturesDescribes more than 1,500 global cultures. Rather than searching by location, try searching for a population (e.g., Basques, Occitans, Austrians).
- Global Etiquette Guide to Mexico and Latin AmericaGuides for other countries available in Reference Bookcase 5.
- Worldmark Encyclopedia of the NationsFocuses on historical and political information.
- Encyclopedia of Latin American history and culture
Biographical Information on Authors
Dictionary of Literary Biography Complete
Detailed and clear explanations of author’s life and literary significance.
Writers from all times and places. Excellent starting point.
Contemporary Authors
Biographical information on more than 120,000 modern and contemporary authors.
Oxford Dictionary of National Biography
50,000 biographies of people who shaped the history of the British Isles and
beyond.
Feminist Companion to Literature in English [Reference
PR111 .B57 1990]
Biographical dictionary of women writing in English.
Cyclopedia of World Authors Available in the database Literary Reference Center
Cyclopedia of World Authors II Available in the database Literary Reference Center
World Authors Series [catalog record]
Notable Latino Writers [Reference PS153 .H56 N68 2006]
Latin American Writers [Reference PQ7081 .A1 L37 1989]
Greek and Latin Authors, 800 B.C.-A.D. 1000: A Biographical Dictionary [Reference PA31 .G7]
Biographical Dictionary of Japanese Literature [Reference PL723 .H58]
European Authors, 1000-1900: A Biographical Dictionary of European Literature [Reference PN451 .K8]
A Dictionary of Medieval Romance and Romance Writers [3rd floor PN669 .S6 1962]
American Authors, 1600-1900 [Reference PS21 .K8]
American Writers Before 1800: A Biographical and Critical Dictionary [Reference PS185 .A4 1983]
Literary Dictionaries and Encyclopedias
Dictionnaire des Littératures de Langue Française [3rd floor PQ41 .B4 1984]
Dictionary of French Literature [Reference PQ41 .B7]
The New Oxford Companion to Literature in French [Reference PQ41 .N48 1995]
Manual de Literatura Española [3rd floor PQ6032 .P4 1980]
The Oxford Companion to Spanish Literature [Reference PQ6006 .O93]
Reallexikon der Deutschen Literaturgeschichte [3rd floor PT41 .R41]
The Oxford Companion to German Literature [Reference PT41 .G3 1997]
Your Librarian |
Links: Profile & Guides |
Internet Resources
French Studies Web, German Studies Web, and Iberian Studies Web
Links compiled by the Western European Studies Section of the Association of College and Research Libraries. "Reference Shelf" pages are especially useful.
Litgloss
Collection of annotated texts in languages other than English. Click terms for translations. Some texts are password protected for University at Buffalo student use only.
Persée and Revues.org
Both sites provide full-text access to French journals in the social and human sciences.
French Conjugator
Part of the ARTFL Project. Enter a verb and the database shows you the conjugation for multiple tenses.
Zeno.org
Includes historical information, images, and full-text German literature.
Iberian Languages and Literatures
Yale University Library's subject research guide for Spain and Portugal. Includes links to full-text Spanish literature.
Iberian, Latin American and Latino Resources--Latino and Chicano Resources
Brown University Library's guide to Latino/Chicano gateways, research guides, and collections.




Loading...
