Find scores, recordings, class guides and other music resources.
Last Updated: Nov 21, 2013
- Die Musik in Geschichte und Gegenwart (MGG) [Reference ML 100 .M92 1994] The major German music encyclopedia. Has many persons not in Grove or Baker's. Text is in German, but you can make out enough to get birth/death dates, etc.
- Baker's Biographical Dictionary of Musicians [Reference ML 105 .B16 2001] Brief biographies (one paragraph to a few pages) of persons from all aspects of musical life. Has entries for many musicians not covered in Grove.
- Harvard Dictionary of Music [Reference ML100 .H37 2003] Brief entries on instruments, styles, genres, and terms.
- Oxford Music Online
Includes the online version of The New Grove Dictionary of Music and Musicians, a comprehensive encyclopedia of music with articles on composers, instruments, performers, regions, countries and cities, styles, genres, and terms. Also includes online versions of The Grove Dictionary of Opera, The New Grove Dictionary of Jazz, The Oxford Companion to Music, The Oxford Dictionary of Music, and The Encyclopedia of Popular Music.
- Garland Encyclopedia of World Music
A comprehensive encyclopedia covering the musical heritage and traditions of every region of the world, including description of specific musical genres, practices, and performances. Articles include detailed photographs that show musicians, musical instrument, and the cultural context of dances, rituals, and ceremonies. Other images include drawings, maps, and musical examples for further study.
WSU Library Catalog
Find CDs, records, streaming audio, and scores.
- International Music Score Library Project (IMSLP)
Download free PDFs of scores in the public domain.
- Choral Public Domain Library
Searchable archive of sacred and secular choral music that is in the public domain.
- Song Index (University of Tennessee)
Look up songs contained in over 1,500 published anthologies, then check the WSU Library Catalog or OhioLINK to see if the collection is available locally.
- Index to Printed Music
Indexes individual pieces of music published in standard scholarly editions such as composers' complete works, national collections, the Recent Researches series, and major anthologies.
- Naxos Music Library
Streaming audio of classical music and opera, jazz, and world music, recorded on nearly 50 labels including Naxos, BIS, Chandos, Hungaroton, cpo, Vanguard and more. Download the App from iTunes and stream your playlists on the go.
- Classical Music Online
Streaming audio of classical music from the earliest times to the present day.
- Smithsonian Global Sound
Streaming audio of the published recordings owned by the non-profit Smithsonian Folkways Recordings label and the archival audio collections of the legendary Folkways Records, Cook, Dyer-Bennet, Fast Folk, Monitor, Paredon and other labels.
- Sheet Music Consortium
The Sheet Music Consortium provides tools and services that promote access to and use of online sheet music collections by scholars, students, and the general public.
For additional databases, refer to the library's alphabetical list of all databases.
- Music Index
Find citations to articles from over 640 international music journals, covering both classical and popular music. Provides best coverage of music education journals. Citations are also included for book reviews, recording reviews, first performances and obituaries.
- RILM Abstracts of Music Literature
Find abstracts of scholarly works on music in all formats: articles, books, bibliographies, catalogs, dissertations, films and videos, conference proceedings and more.
- Arts and Humanities Citation Index
A multidisciplinary database covering the journal literature of the arts and humanities.
- Academic Search Complete
General article database which includes coverage of music. Full-text available for most articles.
- Humanities International Complete
Provides full text of hundreds of journals, books and other published sources in the Humanities.
- Music Necrology
Find death dates and citations to obituaries for individuals in all realms of music who have died since 1995.
- A Guide to Copyright for Music Librarians
Information about copyright, performing rights, and fair use. Although developed with librarians in mind, information is useful to all musicians.
- Public Domain Music
A reference site to help identify public domain songs and music, royalty free music you can use anywhere and any way you choose.
- Classical Music in Video
Performances of all forms of classical music, including major orchestral performances by leading orchestras, plus chamber music, oratorio, and solo performances, along with masterclasses and interviews with master teachers from around the world.
- Opera in Video
Contains 250 of the most important opera performances, captured on video through staged productions, interviews, and documentaries.
- Theatre in Video
More than 250 definitive performances of the world's leading plays, together with more than 100 film documentaries, online in streaming video.
- Dance in Video
Contains video of 250 dance productions and documentaries by the most influential performers and companies of the 20th century. Selections cover ballet, tap, jazz, contemporary, experimental, and improvisational dance, as well as forerunners of the forms and the pioneers of modern concert dance.
- OhioLINK Digital Video Collection
Browse titles in the Literature & Language Arts subject or Music and Dance subject, or try a keyword search for an author, composer, or performer's name.