Includes tools for identifying journals by discipline, ranking or title; information about open access journals, help with abbreviations, guidelines for manuscript submissions, and more.
Last Updated: Nov 7, 2013
Citation Research/Journal Rankings/Selecting Journals
- Cabell's Directories to Publishing Opportunities
Directories of publishing opportunities in accounting, economics and finance, management, and marketing. Each entry includes submission guidelines, circulation data, review and contact information.
- Journal Citation Reports (JCR)
A comprehensive resource for evaluating and comparing journals using citation data. Determine the most frequently cited, highest impact, and largest journals for fields in the sciences and social sciences. Note: These data are limited to the journal titles that are currently tracked by Thomson ISI. Do not rely only on data from the JCR when evaluating a journal title; see Thomson ISI's Using Journal Citation Reports Wisely.
- Scopus (TRIAL)
Scopus indexes peer-reviewed literature and quality web sites in the sciences, engineering, medicine, the social sciences, and the humanities. Seventy percent of the content comes from international sources. Scopus provides unique search analytics including author h-factors and search visualizations and it assists researchers interested in citation analysis. SCOPUS IS AVAILABLE ON A THREE YEAR TRIAL (2011-2013).
- SNIP and SJR-Journalmetrics.com
Learn about SNIP and SJR, the journal metrics used in Scopus.
- Instructions to Authors
From the Mulford Library at the University of Toledo. These pages provide links to Web sites which provide instructions to authors for over 6,000 journals in the health and life sciences. All links are to "primary sources" - that is, to publishers and organizations with editorial responsibilities for the titles.
- Journal Titles Indexed in Thomson Scientific’s Databases
Search the master list of titles indexed by all Thomson Scientific’s database products of browse the title lists of specific databases such as Science Citation Index-Expanded or BIOSIS Previews.
- List of Journals Indexed for MEDLINE
Journals currently indexed for MEDLINE ® listed in four sections: (1) Alphabetic listing by abbreviated title, followed by full title; (2) Alphabetic listing by full title, followed by abbreviated title; (3) Alphabetic listing by subject field; and (4) Alphabetic listing by country of publication. To use the list, you must accept the terms and conditions . Note: This list is available in PDF and is almost 400 pages long.
- List of Serials Indexed for Online Users
Bibliographic information for all journals ever indexed over time for MEDLINE ®. It includes titles that ceased publication, changed titles, or were deselected. To use the list, you must accept the terms and conditions . Note: This list is available in multiple file formats and is more than 300 pages long.
- CINAHL Title Coverage List
Indicates indexing and full text coverage in CINAHL.
- MLA Directory of Periodicals
Modern Language Association. Lists over 4400 periodicals in the areas of literature, language, linguistics, and folklore. The directory provides addresses, advertising rates, and information about submissions for publication.
- Communication in Science: Pressures & Predators (Special Issue of Science)
This special issue of the journal Science includes John Bohannon's article about lack of peer review at predatory journals--"Who's Afraid of Peer Review?"
- Beall’s List: Potential, possible, or probable predatory scholarly open-access publishers
A list by librarian Jeffrey Beall.
- Ulrich's Periodicals Directory (Ulrichsweb.com)
[login with name and UID# required for off campus access]
Authoritative source of bibliographic and publisher information on more than 300,000 periodicals of all types — academic and scholarly journals, open access publications, peer-reviewed titles, popular magazines, newspapers, newsletters, and more from around the world. Search by keyword or subject to get a list of potential publishing venues.
- Jane: Journal/Author Name Estimator
“Have you recently written a paper, but you're not sure to which journal you should submit it? Or maybe you want to find relevant articles to cite in your paper? Or are you an editor, and do you need to find reviewers for a particular paper? Jane can help!”
Limited to biomedical subjects. The Biosemantics Group. Funded by the Netherlands Bioinformatics Center.
- Directory of Open Access Journals (DOAJ)
- Open Access Scholarly Publishers Association (OASPA)
"Our mission is to represent the interests of Open Access (OA) journal and book publishers globally in all scientific, technical and scholarly disciplines. This mission will be carried out through exchanging information, setting standards, advancing models, advocacy, education, and the promotion of innovation."
- OASPA Code of Conduct
- OASPA Members