Statistical Data and Other Information
- Gender Inequality IndexThe Gender Inequality Index (GII) reflects women’s disadvantage in three dimensions—reproductive health, empowerment and the labor market—for as many countries as data of reasonable quality allow. Part of the United Nations Development Programme's Human Development Reports.
- NationmasterNationMaster is a vast compilation of data from hundreds of sources.
- Women WatchUnited Nations information and resources on gender equality and empowerment of women.
- Quality in Gender+ Equality PoliciesOffers country-by-country analysis of gender+ equality practices.
- United Nations Economic Commission for EuropeIncludes gender country profiles and a variety of measures by gender.
- Human Development Reports Gender Empowerment MeasureThis report is a measure of agency. It evaluates progress in advancing women's standing in political and economic forums. For more information, visit http://hdr.undp.org/en/statistics/indices/gdi_gem/
- UNESCO Institute for Statistics"...the UNESCO Institute for Statistics (UIS) - the primary source for cross-nationally comparable statistics on education, science and technology, culture, and communication for more than 200 countries and territories."
Articles: best databases to use
Database searching is good for looking for materials on a specific topic in many different journals at the same time.
- Gender Studies Database This link opens in a new window
GSD covers the full spectrum of gender-engaged scholarship inside and outside academia. Links to free and subscription based full-text articles. Includes professional journals, conference papers, books, government reports, discussion papers, theses and dissertations.
- Women's Studies International This link opens in a new window
Discover literature from core disciplines in women's studies and the latest scholarship in feminist research. Search womens literature and selected bulletins, reports, dissertations, NGO studies, and grey literature. NISC produces the index.
- LGBTQ+ Source This link opens in a new window
LGBTQ+ Source contains literature on lesbian, gay, bisexual, and transgender issues. Indexes LGBTQ+ specific journals, magazines, regional newspapers, books, and reference works.
- QuickSearch This link opens in a new window
QuickSearch combines results from many search tools for you to review in one list. Results come from the Wright State catalog and hundreds of library databases including all of our Ebscohost databases, JSTOR, the Web of Science, and others.
International Journals
These links will take you to a page that gives you access options for that specific journal title. Looking through a specific journal is good when you know they typically cover the issues in which you are interested or when you want to browse. Please note that the dates covered by the different access options might not be the same; choose the source that gives you the dates you need.
- NORA: Nordic Journal of Women's StudiesPlease note there is an 15 month embargo on articles from this journal
- Feminist IssuesPlease note we have access only to articles from 1990 - 1997.
- Australian Feminist StudiesPlease note there is an 18-month embargo on articles from this journal
Encyclopedias and Dictionaries
- Sage Reference This link opens in a new window
Search and read entries from over one hundred social science and science specialized reference encyclopedias published by Sage.
- Gale Virtual Reference Library This link opens in a new window
Search hundreds of scholarly, subject-specific reference titles in many topic areas, including the arts, business, education, history, the sciences, technology, literature, and the social sciences. Excellent for in-depth overviews of terms or concepts. Search individual e-books or whole collections.
- Oxford English Dictionary (OED) This link opens in a new window
Authoritative record of words in the English language. Includes definitions, word origins, and quotations showing the range of word meanings from the time they entered the language to the present.
News Sources
Newspapers can be good sources for information about current situations.
- Independent Voices This link opens in a new window
Read from this digitized collection of alternative press newspapers, magazines and journals produced from the 1960's through the 1980's. The collection includes small literary magazines, underground newspapers, LGBT periodicals, feminist journals, and minority, GI, and right-wing press publications.
- Newspaper Source This link opens in a new window
Search the full-text for regional U.S. newspapers and national and international newspapers, newswires, and TV and radio news transcripts. Several national and many regional news sources are included full-text. Abstracts of articles from The New York Times and The Wall Street Journal - Eastern Edition are also available.
- Factiva This link opens in a new windowContains full-text business information including trade publications and newswires (Dow Jones, Reuters, AP), company reports, and market data. Includes the full-text of the Wall Street Journal.
- Access World News This link opens in a new window
Access World News is a comprehensive resource that includes news publications from around the world. These sources include major national and international newspapers, as well as local and regional titles. Access World News is updated daily to keep students informed of current issues and events, and it includes deep archives that provide background information on important topics, enabling students to trace an issue or event over a period of time.
Questions? Ask your librarian!
Ask Us
Need Help?
- How-To VideosLearn how to navigate and use library resources, including searching, citing, saving, and requesting materials.
- Research ToolkitResearch Toolkit workshops are designed to address the most common challenges students face in doing college-level research, including navigating databases, locating relevant sources, and making sense of information once it is found.
- Ask UsAsk questions via chat, email, or schedule an appointment with your subject librarian.
- Subject LibrariansLearn which librarian specializes in your area of research.