WMS 3000: Privilege
This is the "Home" page of the "Women's Studies" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Women's Studies   Tags: gender_studies, women's_studies  

A guide on where to find books, articles, etc. for those in women's studies courses at Wright State.
Last Updated: Apr 23, 2013 URL: http://guides.libraries.wright.edu/wms Print Guide ShareThis

Home Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

Statistics

Historical Statistics

Historical Census Browser
From the University of Virginia.  Covers 1790-1960 Censuses. 

Statistical Abstracts
The Statistical Abstract summarizes data from several different government agencies.  You can view older editions from this web page.

Current Statistics

Women in America: Indicators of Social and Economic Well-Being
A report issued by the White House Council on Women and Girls in March 2011.  It "pulls together information from across the Federal statistical agencies to compile baseline information on how women are faring in the United States today and how these trends have changed over time.  The report provides a statistical portrait showing how women’s lives are changing in five critical areas: people, families, and income; education; employment; health; and crime and violence."  There is an accompanying statistical website.

The American Woman on the Web: A Statistical Portrait
A compilation similar to the website above with slightly older data.  Still helpful; some tables cover 20 years.  Covers education, health, employment, earnings and benefits, and economic security.

Use the Advanced Search in Google to limit your search for statistics in US government or educational domains.

See more statistical sites on women on the WMS 3000: Privilege page under the Class Guides tab above.

 

Find Books

Advanced Catalog Search

Article Databases

  • Women's Studies International  
      
    Main place to get articles for women's studies. Includes scholarly journals, newspapers, magazines, book chapters, and more obscure stuff like newsletters, bulletins, and NGO studies.
  • Women and Social Movements in the United States: Scholar's Edition
    Covers the years 1600-2000; contains 105 document projects and archives and more 53,000 pages of additional full-text documents. Good for primary source materials.
  • Gender Studies Database
    Source documents include professional journals, conference papers, books, book chapters, government reports, discussion and working papers, theses & dissertations and other sources.
  • Social Sciences Citation Index
    Great place to find articles for interdisciplinary topics. You can also do a citation search here (ask me for more details if you're interested).
  • JSTOR  
      
    Many full text, scholarly articles, but do be aware that the date range is large: from the late 19th c. to about 5 years ago.
  • Google Scholar
    Be sure to go through this link if you're using Google Scholar off campus otherwise you'll be asked to pay for articles.

Your Librarian

Profile Image
Mandy Shannon
Contact Info
937.775.3149
Send Email
 

What is a scholarly article?

Scholarly articles are written by professors, scholars, or experts in a subject for other experts.  They are published in scholarly/academic/peer-reviewed journals.  They are evaluated by other experts before they are published to ensure that they are of high quality.  This guide from the University of Texas-San Antonio Scholarly Journals vs. Popular Magazine Articles briefly outlines some criteira for deciding if you have a scholarly article or not.

Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip