Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

ATH 4310 Seminar in Bioarchaeology: Home

SC&A Contact Information

Special Collections & Archives
401 Dunbar Library
Wright State University Libraries
3640 Colonel Glenn Hwy.
Dayton, OH 45435-0001
library-archives@wright.edu
Chat Monday-Friday 1-5pm

Can I make a virtual appointment?

Bill is also available to talk and answer questions via Webex. Please send me an email at bill.stolz@wright.edu to schedule a time. 

What is a Primary Source?

A primary source is a rare, one of a kind item typically created by an eyewitness to an event. Letters, diaries, photographs, business records, church records, organizational records, and family papers are considered primary sources. 

Secondary sources are published materials that often use primary sources for the background research. Books, journal articles, magazines, and blogs are considered secondary. 

Special Collections & Archives

Special Collections & Archives collects and preserves material related to the Wright Brothers, aviation, the history of the Miami Valley, and Wright State University. Our Miami Valley material dates back to the early 1800s and includes letters, diaries, family records, church records, business records, photographs, and so much more. 

How to Use SC&A During Spring Semester

SC&A staff members are available via email Monday-Friday from 8:30am-5pm and chat from 1-5pm Monday-Friday. You can use the Ask an Archivist page for questions. You can also email or call Bill Stolz, Archivist for Reference and Outreach, with questions you may have about the archives and your document analysis project. 

We are now open for research appointments. The hours are Tuesday-Friday from 10am-4pm and 10am-8pm on Wednesdays. Appointments are 2-hour blocks with a maximum of 2 per day. Requests for appointments can be made here.

Our web site is a great place to start with your research. A site search will list all collections and other material related to your topic. A Finding Aid, also know as a collection guide or inventory, is a guide to a specific collection that provides detailed information on the contents and organization of the material. Each collection here at SC&A will have a finding aid and all finding aids are available on our web site.

Collections

Harrison Township Cemetery Association/Greencastle Cemetery Records (MS-366)
The collection contains handwritten and typed documents of burial plots and grave records,
maps, financial reports and receipts, deeds, ledgers, meeting minutes, photographs, and
correspondence. The records pertain to both New Greencastle Cemetery and Old Greencastle
Cemetery, which are burial grounds of some of the founders of Dayton.

Woodland Cemetery Collection (MS-414)
The Woodland Cemetery Collection contains materials relating to the organization and business
ventures of the Woodland Cemetery Association. Materials such as organization histories, rules
and regulations, meeting minutes, financial records, and correspondence provide a history of the
organization while documents such as interment and cremation records provide insight into the
function that the cemetery plays in Dayton, Ohio. In addition to these written documents, there
are numerous visual documents such as photographs, negatives, and slides that illustrate
Woodland Cemetery.
 

Montgomery County Children's Home Death Records, 1877-1924 (Microfilm)

Montgomery County Home/Infirmary Death Records, 1886-1969 (Microfilm)

Dayton Daily News Archive, 1890-1990s (MS-458)
Photographs, negatives, and news clippings, span obituary, personality, and subject files generated by the Dayton Daily News and the former Journal Herald in the twentieth century. The collection documents the local and regional history of Dayton and the Miami Valley in Ohio, and its role on a national scale, particularly during the period 1930 to 1980. 

Archivist/Reference and Outreach

Bill Stolz's picture
Bill Stolz
Contact:
Dunbar Library 401
(937) 775-2232

Ask an Archivist

chat loading...