Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

HUM 7000 - Research Methods: HUM 7000 Research Methods

Library resources and guides to finding sources for your paper.

Article Databases

HUM 7000: Research Methods - Searching Tips

You can use these searching tips for your other classes too.

  • Article databases and the catalog don't recognize phrase searching, so break your topic into the main keywords or concepts.  For example, if your topic is the origin of nonviolence, don't type "what is the origin of nonviolence" in the search box.  Instead, type in: nonviolence AND protest AND (history OR origin OR birth) or something similarly structured.
     
  • Try to think of as many different ways to describe your topic as you can.
     
  • When you find a good article, look at their footnotes or endnotes to see what articles the author read--you might find a few good ones that you can use.  See box below for how to find articles when you have a citation. 
     
  • Use truncation to expand your search results, for example, if you type in "polit*" it will capture politics, political, politicize, etc.  Some databases do this automatically, but many do not. 
     
  • Click on linked author names, subject headings, or any other descriptive terms in book and article descriptions.

Citing Your Sources

Finding the full text of an article when you have the citation

How would you find the full text for the following citation?  This happens most frequently when you look in the footnotes or bibliography of an article--this is a great way to find primary sources on your topic as well.  There are two methods for finding a citation:

Braithwaite, Alex, Jessica Maves Braithwaite, and Jeffrey Kucik. (2015)  "The conditioning effect of protest history on the emulation of nonviolent conflict." Journal of Peace Research 52, no. 6: 554-557.

Method 1

  1. Go to the Library's EJournals Publications search.
  2. From the search box, type in the title of the journal (Journal of Peace Research).
  3. Do not type your article title in the box.
  4. If WSU owns the rights to the journal, see if we have the year, volume, and issue number you need.
  5. If WSU doesn’t have the journal you want or doesn’t have the year/volume/issue you need, use Interlibrary Loan.

Method 2

  1. From the home page of the University Libraries, use the Quick Search box.
  2. In quotations, type in the title of your article ("The conditioning effect of protest history on the emulation of nonviolent conflict.")
  3. In the results, if the article is available, you will see either the citation or a link out to the full-text
  4. If you do not see a full-text link out, be sure to select the yellow "Find-It" button.  You may find a full-text link to either another service we subscribe to or a link to InterLibrary Loan.

Evaluating Journals

Books

If you need to search for books, there are three options at your disposal: the University Libraries, OhioLINK and WorldCAT catalogs.  If you're having trouble finding a book's availability, be sure to contact me.

You find books in catalogs or databases. You can begin with the Wright State catalog. If you're having trouble finding books on your topic in the WSU catalog, try using the OhioLINK catalog. If you're searching in the OhioLINK catalog, remember to look under Library Holdings to see if Wright State owns the book before you request it.

You can also find books in a database called WorldCat. WorldCat has all the stuff--books, journals, archives, sound recordings and more!--from most university libraries in the US and others around the world. If you're looking for a book, be sure to put a check here:
worldcat books


When you get your list of results, check to see if the book is in the Wright State library (the green symbol will be there); if you want to see if it's in OhioLINK or if you can request it via Interlibrary Loan, click the "Find It" link.

worldcat request

You will see your options here (click the Find It! button to see if it's in OhioLINK):
worldcat options

Ask A Librarian

Subject Guide

Profile Photo
Ran Raider
Contact:
Dunbar Library 120
(937) 775-3521