Wright State University Library Catalog Search
Encyclopedias and Dictionaries
Oxford Music OnlineLimited Use: 5 users at a time.
Includes the New Grove Dictionary of Music and Musicians and all articles from the latest editions of the New Grove Dictionary of Opera; New Grove Dictionary of Jazz; Grove Dictionary of American Music; and Grove Dictionary of Musical Instruments. The combination of volumes provides a comprehensive encyclopedia of music information regarding composers, instruments, performers, regions, countries and cities, styles, genres and terms.
Garland Encyclopedia of World Music Online by Call Number: eBookPublication Date: 2006-A comprehensive encyclopedia covering the musical heritage and traditions of every region of the world, including description of specific musical genres, practices, and performances. Articles include detailed photographs that show musicians, musical instrument, and the cultural context of dances, rituals, and ceremonies. Other images include drawings, maps, and musical examples for further study.
- Baker's Biographical Dictionary of MusiciansAvailable in print: [Dunbar Reference ML 105 .B16 2001].
Brief biographies (one paragraph to a few pages) of persons from all aspects of musical life. Has entries for many musicians not covered in Grove. - Die Musik in Geschichte und Gegenwart (MGG)Available in print: [Dunbar Reference ML 100 .M92 1994].
The major German music encyclopedia. Has many persons not in Grove or Baker's. Text is in German, but you can make out enough to get birth/death dates, etc. - Harvard Dictionary of MusicAvailable in print: [Dunbar Reference ML100 .H37 2003].
Brief entries on instruments, styles, genres, and terms.
Naxos (People)The Naxos People) is an index of performers and composers of classical music. It focuses on finding recordings of specific works. Short biographies are included for principal musicians.
eBooks
Recommended eBook collections and eBooks:
Cambridge University PressRead full-text journal articles published by Cambridge University Press. These articles can also be found within the Electronic Journal Center (OhioLINK EJC).
eBook Collection (EBSCOhost)Tip: Provides the full-text of thousands of recently-published books from selected academic and commercial publishers, as well as the full-text of a large number of older works in the public domain.
Ebook CentralTip: ebrary contains handbooks and engineering research from many different publishers. (Share options: by chapter, must use ebrary sign-in.)
Electronic Book Center (EBC)Tip: The OhioLINK Electronic book center contains quality research collected from several different publishers. Search results show flat text files -- USE [PDF FULL TEXT] TO DISPLAY READABLE TEXT. (Share options: by chapters.)
Browse the 3rd floor
The books on the third floor are organized by subject. Sometimes you can find the perfect source simply by reading titles on the shelves in an area relevant to your interest. (3rd Floor Map)
M -- Music
5-1490 Instrumental music
1495-500 Vocal Music
ML -- Literature of Music
48-158 Librettos and bibliography
159-3799 History(organized by music type - look for composers as subjects)
3800-3923 Philosophy and physics
MT -- Music Introduction and Study
40-67 Composition
70-86 Orchestration (and conducting)
90-146 Analytical guides (listening and understanding - not history or criticism)
170-810 Instrumental techniques
820-949 Singing and voice
955-960 Opera and music in theatre
Request Book Loans - Delivery Times
Use the request button to place a delivery request for a book.
There are three places to request book-loans: the Wright State University Libraries Catalog, the OhioLINK Catalog, and Interlibrary Loan.
Average delivery times depend upon where the book comes from.
BOOK LOAN REQUESTS:
- Wright State University Libraries Catalog - requests take 2 to 3 business days to fill
Check your order status: use My Account - holds.
- OhioLINK Catalog - requests take 3 to 4 business days to fill
Check your order status: use My Account - holds.
- Interlibary Loan - requests average 2 weeks to fill
Please note: we may NOT use ILL to order textbooks.
Check your order status: use Interlibary Loan Login - View Outstanding Requests.
Ask Us
Questions? Ask your librarian!
More research guides
Or use these related research guides: