Music: Recordings & Videos

Listen to music recordings from over 130,000 albums released by Naxos and hundreds of other labels in most all music genres. Listen to whole album or individual tracks in near CD quality sound. Useful for research on composers, performers, and studying alternate performances of a single work. Includes a glossary, a pronunciation guide, opera synopses and libretti, histories of classical music and opera, instruments of the orchestra, and fundamental music terms.

Search this virtual encyclopedia of the world's musical and aural traditions. The musical preservation collection provides educators, students, and interested listeners with resources to hear, create, and preserve the continuity of diverse musical forms. Produced in partnership with Smithsonian Folkways Recordings.

Listen to thousands of digital music files released by Naxos. The files are available for educational use to the students, faculty and staff of OhioLINK institutions. WSU constituents may prefer to use the more complete NAXOS Music Library instead.

The collection includes recordings made from the late 1800s to early 1900s, including popular songs, vaudeville acts, classical and operatic music, comedic monologues, ethnic and foreign recordings, speeches and readings.

Includes a wide variety of curriculum-focused streaming video titles from producers such as Films for the Humanities & Sciences, PBS, A&E, History, BBC, National Geographic, and more.

Temporary access to this database and its contents has been provided through OhioLINK and the Governor’s Emergency Education Relief (GEER) funds to bridge COVID-created gaps in higher education instructional materials and library resources. This database will be available through May 31, 2022.

Limited Use: 5 users a time.
Watch dance productions and documentaries by the most influential performers of the 20th century. Selections cover ballet, tap, jazz, contemporary, experimental, and improvisational dance, as well as pioneers of modern concert dance. Includes classic performances from top ballet companies; experimental works from dance troupes; documentaries about leading choreographers; and dance training videos.

Limited Use: 5 users at a time.
Watch video from staged opera productions, interviews, and documentaries. The collection presents an overview of the most commonly studied operas in music history, opera literature, and performance classes.

View streaming video of definitive performances of the worlds leading plays and film documentaries. Students, instructors, and researchers can bookmark specific scenes, monologues, and staging.