Skip to main content

Medicine: Finding fulltext articles

Find specific resources for answering questions about medical topics

Finding the fulltext article

From a library database (ie PubMed, Web of Science, any Ebsco database, etc.)

  • Each citation/abstract in a database should have a link to see if the library has access to the fulltext. Look for the library's link resolver called "Find It". Fint It   In PubMed, the Find It icon is on the abstract page. For other databases you will see it on the search results page.
  • When you click on the "Find It" link, you will see some options. If fulltext is available there will be a link to whatever resource has it. Be sure to pay attention to the dates of coverage.sample FindIt with fulltext options
  •   If fulltext is not available, there is a link to the library's free interlibrary loan service. Sample FindIt Page Interlibrary Loan
  • In the various databases, you may see links to publisher websites. Sometimes those links take you to free fulltext or fulltext available through library subscriptions, sometimes they lead you to a page where you must pay for access. If you are connected with WSU, you should not pay - you should use our interlibrary loan service.
  • In PubMed, you may also see links to open access options like PubMed Central or BioMed Central.

From a reference list or bibliography

  • From the reference list, identify the title of the journal in the citation. Then check the library's A-to-Z list of electronic journals. Access the A-to-Z eJournals list from the Medicine Research Guide ( OR from the library home page ( under the Research tab.  If we do not subscribe to the journal or we do not have coverage for the year needed, then use the library's free interlibrary loan service.

Use Interlibrary Loan when fulltext is not available

  • Interlibrary loan ( is freely available service for all WSU faculty, staff and students. "W" number and password are required for access.  Request articles not available electronically or books not available locally or in OhioLINK. Articles are delivered as PDFs to your interlibrary loan account where you can easily download them. Book pick-up is at the library's circulation desk.

Ask A Librarian