Skip to main content

Medicine: Selecting and Searching Databases

Find specific resources for answering questions about medical topics

Choosing the Right Database to Search

Which database(s) to use? 

  • Clinical Science & Research - PubMed, Web of Science (WoS), CINAHL (Nursing, Allied Health)
  • Basic Science & Translational Research - PubMed, Web of Science and Biosis (part of WoS)
  • Medical Education Research & Curriculum Development - PubMed, Education Research Complete
  • Arts & Medicine - PubMed, WoS, Humanities Fulltext, Art Fulltext
  • Public Health, Population Health, & Global Health - PubMed, WoS, PsycInfo, SocIndex, CINAHL
  • All of the above - Google Scholar

For a complete list of available WSU databases, see the A-to-Z list of databases. 

Not sure the best database to use for your topic? Use Quicksearch, (from Ebsco) a search engine that searches for your keywords in almost all of the WSUL (Wright State University Libraries) databases simultaneously. This is great if you have a topic where various aspects could be in diverse databases, for example, the economics of health care should be searched both in PubMed and Business Source Complete.

For the library modules in this longitudinal course, you are only required to learn how to search PubMed. Additional tutorials are provided for your information only as you may need to consult them while working on your projects.

 

PubMed Tutorials

Various options for learning more about PubMed are available below.

Use the videos as quick starting points to learn some basics of searching.

For a complete lesson on all aspects of PubMed make use of this comprehensive tutorial:  (not required)
https://www.nlm.nih.gov/bsd/disted/pubmedtutorial/cover.html

Web of Science Tutorials

The Web of Science - Search Tips video will get you started using the database option for the Core Collection. Use the WoS You Tube Channel for numerous videos covering more advanced search options.

The Web of Science is a good database to use if you have an article and you want to see what articles have cited the one you have. This is called "forward searching" or cited reference searching.

Ebsco Tutorials

Once you learn to search one EBSCOhost database, you have learned how to use them all because they search using the same interface. This includes QuickSearch as well as subject specific databases like Education Resource Complete, PsycINFO, SocIndex, Business Source Complete and many more.

Ask A Librarian