Skip to main content

History: Government Information

Find articles, books, primary sources, and more for your history research papers.

Government Information

Government documents can be a great source of information that you can't get in other materials.  Locating current information is pretty easy, as most publications are online and searchable through GovInfo, which provides online access to information from all three branches of the Federal Government. Additionally, government documents (both print and online) come up in catalog searches.  There is no way to isolate them from the books (they are coded the same as books) in either the Wright State or OhioLINK catalog.

If you want to locate historical government publications you can use the following print indexes you'll have to request them from OhioLINK.  Currently, WSU Libraries only retains the last five years of government publications in hard copy and microfiche.  Our catalog also contains links to current and older government documents.

Online A Descriptive Catalogue of the Government Publications of the United States, September 5, 1774-March 4, 1881

Hard copy  3rd floor Z 1223 .A 1970 v.1-2

Use the GPO Catalog for publications 1976 to present.

Online Checklist of United States Public Documents 1789-1909, Congressional: to Close of Sixtieth Congress; Departmental: to end of calendar year 1909 
3rd floor Z 1223 .A113 1962

Union Bibliography of Ohio Printed State Documents, 1803-1970 
Hard copy Reference & Archives Reference Z 1223.5 .O4U5
This 1973 publication by the Ohio Historical Society provides brief descriptions the histories of Ohio government agencies, along with a bibliography of their publications.

Here is a list of some historical gov docs that you have access to:

Below are some resources that will be relevant for history students.

Government Information: online government information

There are also tons of goverment publications online.  Below are some links to websites that should be relevant for history students.

Government Information: Census data

Historical data sources

Ask A Librarian

Questions? Ask a librarian!

Ran Raider's picture
Ran Raider
Contact:
Dunbar Library 120
(937) 775-3521