Recommended Article Databases
- Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
Get full-text access to magazines, newspapers, and scholarly journals in the sciences, social sciences, business, education, and the humanities. Full-text may be available via Find-It. Useful place to begin broad searches for general topics.
- Environment Complete This link opens in a new windowProvides coverage of environmental literature from the 1950s to the present.
- Applied Science and Technology Full Text This link opens in a new window
Access full-text journals, periodicals and conference proceedings in a broad range of applied sciences literatures.
- Web of Science All Databases This link opens in a new window
This option will search a combination of all the available science databases produced by this publisher. The search will include familiar citation, biology, medicine, and patent databases. Once connected, review the "select a database" option for a complete list. Use this option if you are not sure which Clarivate database may offer the best results.
- Science Citation Index Expanded This link opens in a new window
This multidisciplinary resource indexes journal literature of the sciences. Represented disciplines include astronomy, biochemistry, biology, chemistry, computer science, engineering, genetics, geology, materials science, mathematics, medicine, neuroscience, oncology, pediatrics, pharmacology, physics, psychiatry, veterinary science, and zoology. Search by topic, keyword, or author. Identify articles that cited a previous work. Links to full-text occur when available. Also known as SCI.
- GreenFILE This link opens in a new window
A comprehensive research index focuses on literature investigating the relationship between human beings and the environment. Includes scholarly journals, general-interest magazines, and government publications.
- National Technical Reports Library
Search by author, title, or agency to find technical reports. Some are available in full-text. The NTRL was created by the National Technical Information Service (NTIS).
- SciFinder-n This link opens in a new windowSciFinder-n provides indexed access to chemical literature and patents through the following databases: Chemical Abstracts PLUS, the CAS Registry File, CASREACT and MEDLINE. It also includes the literature of related fields such as biochemistry, geochemistry, environmental science, and toxicology. Search by retrosynthesis planning, structure, chemical substance, chemical reaction, CAS registry number, and functional groups. Links to full-text occur when available.
- GeoRef Preview Database This link opens in a new window
The free GeoRef Preview database contains minimal bibliographic references to preprints and unedited papers recently submitted for publication in geological sciences literature. Edited entries are removed from GeoRef Preview and added to GeoRef. The Wright State University Libraries does not currently subscribe to GeoRef.
Articles: finding the full text of an article when you have the citation
How would you find the full text for the following citation? This happens most frequently when you look in the footnotes or bibliography of an article--this is a great way to find other sources on your topic as well.
Cole, Richard. "When Gods Become Bureaucrats." Harvard Theological Review 113, no. 2 (April 8, 2020): 186-209.
- Go to the library home page.
- Using quotation marks, type your article title ("When Gods Become Bureaucrats.") in the box. Do not type your journal title in the box.
- If Wright State University owns the access rights to the article you will see a direct link to the pdf. You might also see a yellow "Find It" button below the title. When viewing the bibliographic record the "Find It" button may be on the left side of the page. If Wright State University owns the rights in another subscription database there will be a link in the pop-up window to the full-full text
- If Wright State University does not own access rights to the article you want, you will be presented with an Interlibrary Loan option as the last link. Please take advantage of this option for your research needs.
Evaluating Journals
- Cabells Scholarly Analytics This link opens in a new windowFind publishing opportunities in many academic disciplines. Each entry includes submission guidelines, circulation data, review method, and contact information. The database provides both journalytics and predatory lists of journals. The humanities are poorly represented.
- Journal Citation Reports This link opens in a new window
Evaluate and compare journals using Web of Science social science and science citation data calculated as impact factors.
- Open Access Journal Quality Indicators - Grand Valley State UniversityThe open access landscape is complex. There are thousands of peer-reviewed open access journals, with new titles emerging rapidly using a variety of models. While there are many high-quality, peer-reviewed open access publications, there are also journals/publishers that engage in unprofessional or unethical practices. The following guidelines are intended to help you evaluate open access publications as you consider appropriate publication venues, or invitations to serve as reviewers or editors.