Religion: Websites & Organizations

ARDA consists of compilations of quantitative and geographic data on religions worldwide, including Christian denominations and congregations in the United States.

Latse is a public, non-profit 501(c)(3) organization dedicated to promoting Tibetan language use and literacy, supporting linguistically and culturally relevant educational resources for Tibetan children, and providing access to knowledge for all generations through opportunities for higher education, and by creating and sharing resources.

Full text of the 1914 edition of the Catholic Encyclopedia; its entries are often of considerable historical value.

An extensive and frequently consulted collection of digital texts of public-domain books on Christianity, compiled at Calvin College with the aid of a large group of volunteers.

A digital library compiling links to Latin texts available online, from the earliest sources through the 18th century AD; part of the Forum Romanum Web project.

Reference and research materials, including texts, images, maps, & statistical data, with bibliographies, indexes, and links to further resources. A major international collaborative project of numerous research institutions in the UK, US, and South Asia.

A site containing introductory articles on Buddhism, as well as an international list of contacts. FWBO describes itself as "an international network dedicated to communicating Buddhist truths in ways appropriate to the modern world."

Annual report of the US State Department Office of International Religious Freedom, arranged by country, with concise summaries on the protection of religious freedom or barriers to such freedom.

A compilation of public-domain and copy-permitted historical texts, arranged by period and theme, edited by Dr. Paul Halsall. This resource also includes links to a number of other relevant Web sites and digital maps.

A collection of electronic texts representing a wide range of religions, mythologies, and spiritual beliefs, this site is continually updated and expanded.

A varied, balanced, and award-winning guide to Web resources for the study of Islam, the Islamic world, and Arabic; compiled by Dr. Alan Godlas of the University of Georgia.

While primarily a portal with organized links to other sites on Jainism, this site (maintained at Colorado State University) provides an historical outline and direct links to images.

The Labyrinth provides free, organized access to resources in medieval studies. The Labyrinth’s easy-to-use links provide connections to databases, services, texts, and images around the world.

This Columbia University site collects important electronic bibliographic and research resources relating to Middle Eastern and North African studies. It includes an extensive section on religion in the Middle East.

Access 3 major electronic resources in Middle English studies: The Corpus of Middle English Prose & Verse, the HyperBibliography, and the Middle English Dictionary.

A site providing searchable texts of Bible versions, facilitating comparisons among the King James English, Latin Vulgate, Luther German, and Louis Segond French translations.

Provides full-text access to a broad range of scholarly journals published in France in the humanities and social sciences. Made available by the Ministere de l'education nationale, de l'enseignement superieur et de la recherche.

Digital images, extensive background information, and bibliographies, to accompany and supplement a Library of Congress exhibition on the Dead Sea scrolls.

"Comprehensive guide to the Gods (Theoi), Spirits (Daimones) and Monsters (Theres) of ancient Greek mythology and religion." Includes family trees and maps relating to the mythology, a gallery of images from Greek and Roman art, and a bibliography.

The Tibetan and Himalayan Library (THL) is a publisher of websites, information services, and networking facilities relating to the Tibetan plateau and southern Himalayan regions.

Encyclopedia Mythica is an internet encyclopedia on mythology, folklore, and religion. Everything from Aaron to Zygius, with thousands of articles in between.

The Theological Research Exchange Network (TREN) is a library of over 10,000 theological thesis/dissertation titles representing research from as many as 70 different institutions.