Skip to main content

NUR 7005 - Nursing Research and Evidence for Practice: Reliably Getting Back to Article Content (Permalinks or Durable Links)

A guide to help you locate the best evidence for clinical questions.

More Information Resources for...

More research guides

Browse all research guides (guides for other relevant subjects such as medicine, anatomy, education, and psychology)

Or use these related research guides:

About Scholarly Articles and Finding Professional Nursing and Healthcare Articles

Need Help?

CAUTION - Pasting URLs from the Address Bar Does NOT Work in the Library Databases

If you normally copy and paste the URL from your browser's address bar into a document to get back to it or cite it later, please be aware that this method does not work for the library databases. 

The URLs in the databases are dynamic, which means they change with every search and even if the URL copied and pasted from the address bar works, it will only work temporarily.  In order to be sure you can quickly get back to the article content when you really need it, be sure to use durable URLs or permanent links, if available.

Even if you use durable links, it is still a good idea to jot down basic information about the source (such as article title, author, publication date) so that you have something to help you get back to your source if your link fails. 

The center column of this page contains information about how to get back to individual article citations and full text links and how to save searches and citations in CINAHL and PubMed only. 

As for other library databases, options for creating permanent or durable links to database content vary with the interface. If you need help determining reliable linking options for other databases, contact your librarian.

Steps for Using Permalink in EBSCO Databases (CINAHL, PsycINFO, QuickSearch, etc.)

1. In the article record, select the Permalink icon on the right side of the article record (the next to the last option under "Tools").

2. A Permalink option then displays above the article record title.  Copy and paste the text from the permalink box.  Make sure you get the entire URL when you paste it into your links file.  Permalink URLs are rather long and will always end in the word "live".

3. (Not shown in image). Paste the URL into a document and then test it to make sure it works.  (You may be prompted to login with your w number and password before being taken back to the record.  The record will likely open in a new browser tab).

To see an enlarged version of the screen capture below, right click on the screen capture image and select "open in a new tab".

Article record with Permalink icon marked as step 1 and permalink text highlighted as step 2.

Getting Back to An Article Record in PubMed

Copying and pasting the permalink under the share options for the article record in PubMed will only get you back to the abstract of the article in the public version of PubMed (pubmed.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov) -- NOT to the Wright State or OhioLINK-specific subscription links for accessing the full text.  To ensure that you have the full text of the article and the appropriate information to cite the article, download the article immediately and copy and paste the citation information from the record immediately,  Otherwise, you will need to get back to the article record later to retrieve the citation information and full text.

To get back to the PubMed page that provides FindIt links for Wright State or OhioLINK full text:

1. Jot down or copy and paste the PMID number listed under the source information in the brief article record (i.e., the page listing multiple search results).

and/or

Jot down or copy and paste the source information under the author names in the brief article record or above the article title in the individual full article record (this includes the journal title abbreviation, the month and year, the volume and issue numbers and the page numbers).  Both the brief citation (source information) and the PMID are highlighed and labelled in the image below).

2.  Retain the information in a safe place so that you will have enough detail to get back to the article record and full text links when you need it.

3.  To return to the article record and full text links in PubMed, you must access PubMed directly through the WSU Libraries web site so that you can authenticate as a Wright State user and access Wright State's full text holdings for free.  (PubMed is linked on the Databases list as well as the Nursing Subject Guide and specific nursing course guides).  

To see an enlarged version of the screen captures below, right click on the screen capture image and select "open in a new tab".

Location of source information and PMID in a PubMed brief Record:

highlighted source information and PMID location in brief PubMed record

 

 

Saving Search Results in PubMed

Questions?
Ask your librarian!

Ximena Chrisagis's picture
Ximena Chrisagis
Contact:
Dunbar Library 120
(937) 775-3516

Ask A Librarian

JavaScript disabled or chat unavailable.