Articles & Books
- Wright State University Library Catalog This link opens in a new window
Search the Wright State University library collection of books, music recordings, musical scores, journal titles, DVDs, archives, streaming videos, maps, government documents and more. Link to OhioLINK and SearchOhio collections to broaden your search coverage.
- Science Citation Index Expanded This link opens in a new window
This multidisciplinary resource indexes journal literature of the sciences. Represented disciplines include astronomy, biochemistry, biology, chemistry, computer science, engineering, genetics, geology, materials science, mathematics, medicine, neuroscience, oncology, pediatrics, pharmacology, physics, psychiatry, veterinary science, and zoology. Search by topic, keyword, or author. Identify articles that cited a previous work. Links to full-text occur when available. Also known as SCI.
- Applied Science and Technology Full Text This link opens in a new window
Access full-text journals, periodicals and conference proceedings in a broad range of applied sciences literatures.
- AGRICOLA This link opens in a new window
Indexes the literature of the agricultural sciences, agricultural technology, agro-industry and related disciplines. Full-text may be available via Find-It.
- Environment Complete This link opens in a new window
Indexes environmental studies literature including agriculture, ecosystem ecology, energy, environmental law, technology, marine and freshwater science, natural resources, pollution & waste management, public policy, and urban planning. Coverage begins in the 1950s. Full-text may be available via Find-It.
- GreenFILE This link opens in a new window
A comprehensive research index focuses on literature investigating the relationship between human beings and the environment. Includes scholarly journals, general-interest magazines, and government publications.
- SciFinder-n This link opens in a new windowSciFinder-n provides indexed access to chemical literature and patents through the following databases: Chemical Abstracts PLUS, the CAS Registry File, CASREACT and MEDLINE. It also includes the literature of related fields such as biochemistry, geochemistry, environmental science, and toxicology. Search by retrosynthesis planning, structure, chemical substance, chemical reaction, CAS registry number, and functional groups. Links to full-text occur when available.
- Zoological Record This link opens in a new window
Indexes animal biology, biodiversity, environmental studies, and veterinary science literature published since 1864. Indexed publications include journals, books, reports, and meetings. Links to full-text when possible.
Predatory Publishers
A predatory publisher is a publisher who produces low quality academic journals. These journals are rarely peer-reviewed, and often charge the author a publication fee. The publisher works hard to dupe authors into publishing by emulating well-known publishers, lying about their credentials, and soliciting submissions with spam emails. Learn how to evaluate and identify predatory publishers using the criteria below:
- Little or no peer review
- Fake ISSN
- Editors with no or fake credentials
- No editors listed at all
- False indexing claims in Web of Science, Directory of Open Access Journals, etc.
- Rapid acceptance (within 2 weeks)
- Call for papers email, a pre-acceptance email, and other "scammy" email
- Empty or dead links
- Spelling and grammar errors
- Fake Impact Factor
- Impact Factor can only be assigned by one company, Clarivate Analytics (formerly Thomson Reuters and Institute for Scientific Information). An easy way to check is by searching the Impact Factor in InCites Journal Citations Report.
- Journal Citation Reports This link opens in a new window
Ask Us
Questions? Ask your librarian!
Need Help?
- How-To VideosLearn how to navigate and use library resources, including searching, citing, saving, and requesting materials.
- Research ToolkitResearch Toolkit workshops are designed to address the most common challenges students face in doing college-level research, including navigating databases, locating relevant sources, and making sense of information once it is found.
- Ask UsAsk questions via chat, email, or schedule an appointment with your subject librarian.
- Subject LibrariansLearn which librarian specializes in your area of research.