Special Collections & Archives collects and preserves material related to the Wright Brothers, aviation, the history of the Miami Valley, and Wright State University. Our Miami Valley materials dates back to the early 1800s and includes letters, diaries, family records, business records, photographs, and so much more. In addition, we collect local government records for 11 counties in central, southwest Ohio. The county materials often include the county children's home, county home (infirmary), common pleas court, probate court, sheriff, and township/city records. Please visit the SC&A web site for more information on the archives and collections.
Our reading room also houses a large collection of published local history, genealogy, and aviation resources that can provide secondary sources for your research.
SC&A staff members are available via email Monday-Friday from 8:30am-5pm and chat from 1-5pm Monday-Friday. You can use the Ask an Archivist page for questions. You can also email Bill Stolz, Archivist for Reference and Outreach, with questions you may have about the archives and your document analysis project.
Our web site is a great place to start with your research. A site search will list all collections and other material related to your topic. In addition, many of our collections, or portions of, have been digitized and available on CORE Scholar, the University Libraries' institutional repository. See below for a list of the Ohio history-related collections that are available on CORE Scholar or by contacting Bill Stolz.
A , also know as a collection guide or inventory, is a guide to a specific collection that provides detailed information on the contents and organization of the material. Each collection here at SC&A will have a finding aid and all finding aids are available on our web site.
SC&A has digitized select materials related to the Wright Brothers, aviation, local history, and Wright State University on CORE Scholar, Wright State Libraries' institutional repository. Below are links to the various digitized collections along with descriptions for each collection.
This list is comprised of collections, or portions of collections, that have been scanned by the Archives staff and available by contacting Bill Stolz or sending an email to email@example.com.