It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Grey Literature in the Health Sciences: Clinical Trials / Guidelines / Regulatory
Describes what grey literature is, why it is important to search it, how to focus your search, which resources are available to search, and how to evaluate grey literature. License: Creative Commons Attribution-NonCommercial Share Alike 4.0 International.
The ISRCTN (International Standard Randomised Controlled Trial Number) registers all clinical research studies (proposed, ongoing or completed) and provides each one with a unique identifying number. All study records in the database are searchable and freely accessible.
Allows you to search for protocol and results information on interventional clinical trials that are conducted in the European Union (EU) and the European Economic Area (EEA) and clinical trials conducted outside the EU / EEA that are linked to European paediatric-medicine development.
"All NCI Center for Cancer Research (CCR) clinical trials take place at the National Institutes of Health (NIH) Clinical Center in Bethesda, Maryland. Clinical trials at the NIH Clinical Center are open to patients with cancer, HIV, or immunodeficiency disorders, regardless of where they live in the United States."
An open, online database of information about the world’s clinical research trials. Matches documents and data for each trial including registry entries, papers, regulatory documents; methods and results; researchers, clinical study reports, and more.
No charge to use, but registration is required. "This centralized repository includes evidence-based guidance developed by nationally- and internationally-recognized medical organizations and medical specialty societies." ECRI Institute was formerly the sole contractor for the National Guideline Clearinghouse. Guidelines Trust Inclusion Criteria
International Initiative for Impact Evaluation- this site contains policy statements, systematic reviews and a repository of impact evaluations.
Source guides: USC and Wichita State
Regulatory Information - FDA
FDA resources are some of the main resources to search for grey literature, particularly for documents about unpublished clinical trials. The most commonly searched resources are Drugs@FDA and Devices@FDA.
This agency regulates medical devices, food safety, drugs, vaccines, cosmetics, and tobacco. Find data on the methods of regulations, ways to report violations, lists of safety alerts and recalls, and approved products in each of these categories.
Devices@FDA is a catalog of cleared and approved medical device information from fda. it includes links to the device summary information, manufacturer, approval date, user instructions, and other consumer information. Devices@FDA searches the following databases: PMN-510(k) remarket Notification PMA-Premarket Approval
Confirmation of the Creative Commons status of the entire USC guide was also sought and received in writing from the USC Guide Author Karin Saric on 11 July 2019. Reuse permission was granted provided attribution is given.