It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Grey Literature in the Health Sciences: Search Engines
Describes what grey literature is, why it is important to search it, how to focus your search, which resources are available to search, and how to evaluate grey literature. License: Creative Commons Attribution-NonCommercial Share Alike 4.0 International.
WorldWideScience.org is a global science gateway comprised of national and international scientific databases and portals. WorldWideScience.org accelerates scientific discovery and progress by providing one-stop searching of databases from around the world. More information
Search over 300 authoritative science and technology collections. Results include both black and grey literature. Unlike Google, a Mednar search occurs in real-time, retrieving relevant medical information as if you were going to each individual website yourself. Because Mednar is a publicly available search, it can't retrieve results from your subscription or premium medical resources.
Gateway to U.S. Federal Science. Search over 60 databases and over 2,200 selected websites from 15 federal agencies, for research and development results. Topics include health and science, agriculture, environment, informatics, and more.
Searches multiple U.S. Federal government databases, retrieving reports, articles, and citations while providing direct links to selected resources available online. Includes health, environment, agriculture, business, education, history, and more. Please note: While all the resources searched by GPO's MetaLib are U.S. federal government information products, the content retrieved may include non-government publications.
Indexes research literature across a wide range of disciplines and formats. Use the library connection to gScholar to get more attached full-text articles. Automatically searches more than seven million patents from the United States Patent and Trademark Office (USPTO), the European Patent Office (EPO), and the World Intellectual Property Organization (WIPO). US patent documents date back to 1790, EPO and WIPO to 1978. Search by criteria such as patent number, inventor, classification, or filing date.To search for legal documents, select the radio dial for "Case Law".
Google Patents uses optical character recognition (OCR) to extract textual information from historical patent documents, pre-1971. The extraction process isn’t perfect, however, and inaccurate textual recognition is possible, especially for historic documents that are poor quality. If you find a document difficult to read, machines will experience even more challenges reading the text.
Think Tank Search is a custom Google search of more than 600 think tank websites. For the purposes of this search, think tanks are defined as institutions affiliated with universities, governments, advocacy groups, foundations, non-governmental organizations, and businesses that generate public policy research, analysis, and activity.
Confirmation of the Creative Commons status of the entire USC guide was also sought and received in writing from the USC Guide Author Karin Saric on 11 July 2019. Reuse permission was granted provided attribution is given.