Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Children's and Young Adult Literature: Disability Themes

A research guide of recommended information resources for Children's and Young Adult Literature

Find Children's Books by Topic

There are several reference tools that you can use to find children's books by topic or theme. One of these is called A to Zoo.   A to Zoo can help you to identify which children's books cover the topic you need.


A to Zoo can be found in the WSU Library, 4th floor, Children's Literature Collection, Child Lit Research shelves: Z 1037 .L715 2010.

 

 

Yellow book cover with large cartoonish characters - A to Zoo - and small animals

Children's Picture Book Database

Children's Picture Book Database at Miami University

A collection of picture book abstracts searchable by toipcs, concepts, and skills for building content area reading across all academic subjects.

Search the database or browse by title or category.

Children's Books - Disability Themes

This list of books comes from the disability themed children's books recommended by A to Zoo, 2010. The books are in order by alphabetical category [General, ADD, Autism, Blindness, etc.], and then within each category alphabetically by title.  The titles are linked to WSU holdings, including the WSU Dunbary Library Children's Literature Collection and the Educational Resource Center.   Use OhioLINK to request copies of books not available at WSU.

Disabilities (General)

ADD

Autism

Blindness

Cerebal Palsy

Deafness

Down Syndrome

Dyslexia

Mental Disabilities

Physical Disabilities

Stuttering

Questions? Ask A librarian!

Heather Back's picture
Heather Back
Contact:
Dunbar Library 120
(937) 775-3515

Ask A Librarian

chat loading...