Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

CHM 3190 - Chemical Literature and Composition: SciFinder

This guide contains relevant links to information resources, in-class exercises, out of class assignments, and supplemental materials for the chemical information literacy sessions of CHM 3190.

More Information Resources for...

Scientific Communication Resource

CAS Document - How to Save, Print, and Export Answers

Database Description for SciFinder-n

SciFinder-n

Please note: The previous version of SciFinder will not be available after Dec 31, 2021.  If you have a SciFinder account, it will migrate automatically to SciFinder-n.  If you have saved answers and alerts with SciFinder, migrate them to SciFinder-n before Dec 31.

Limited Use: WSU faculty, staff, and students only

SciFinder-n provides access to chemical literature and patents through the following databases: Chemical Abstracts PLUS, the CAS Registry File, CASREACT and MEDLINE. Besides providing comprehensive coverage of chemical literature, the database also includes the literature of related fields such as biochemistry, geochemistry, environmental science, and toxicology. The SciFinder-n interface allows searching by several chemistry-specific parameters, including retrosynthesis planning, structure (with ChemDoodle integration), chemical substance, chemical reaction, CAS registry number, and functional groups.

CAS requires all SciFinder-n users to abide by special terms and conditions.  Please review these requirements carefully when creating a SciFinder-n account.

Complete a one-time registration form to create your own user name and password. You will then be able to use SciFinder-n both on and off campus.

Search SciFinder-n

 

Need help?

SciFinder Part I In-Class Worksheet

Authentication for Using SciFinder

After you create a SciFinder account, you must use the Search SciFinder button on this guide or from the library databases page in order to access SciFinder.

If you are on campus, you will be prompted to enter the user name and password you chose when you set up your SciFinder account.

Note: If you are off campus, authenticating to use SciFinder is a multi-step process:

1. Use the search SciFinder button from this page or from the SciFinder link in the WSU databases list.

2. Authenticate with your w number and password as you do for all WSU resources from off campus.  (This may also require two factor authentication through your mobile device).

3. Once you reach the CAS SciFinder page, enter the user name and password you chose when you registered for your account.

Notes about Chemical Abstracts (SciFinder) Naming and Numbering

Cited References and Citing References in SciFinder

  • Get Cited option displays references cited in the selected documents (cited in).
  • Get Citing option displays references citing the selected documents (cited by). 

Thanks to Cornell University Library for this explanation.

Ask A Librarian

JavaScript disabled or chat unavailable.

Questions?
Ask your librarian!

Profile Photo
Ximena Chrisagis
Contact:
Dunbar Library 120
(937) 775-3516