It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Research Toolkit workshops are designed to address the most common challenges students face in doing college-level research, including navigating databases, locating relevant sources, and making sense of information once it is found.
Ask questions via chat, email, or schedule an appointment with your subject librarian.
Articles: Suggested Databases
The University Libraries provide access to a variety of general and subject-specific databases that can be used to complete communication research. Use these databases to locate scholarly articles, popular articles, news stories, book reviews, and more.
The databases below are subject specific, focusing on Communication, Media, and the Social Sciences. Click on a database name to search within that specific database.
Communications and Mass Media Complete offers full-text and cover-to-cover indexing and abstracts for journals in the fields of communications, mass media and related fields. Some major journals begins from 1915 forward.
Indexes television and film writing literature. Subject coverage includes film and television theory, preservation and restoration, writing, production, cinematography, technical aspects and reviews. Useful to film scholars, college students, and fans.
Provides abstracts for articles from over 3,200 business-related publications, including academic, professional and trade journals. Good source for articles on advertising, public relations, and marketing.
This multidisciplinary resource indexes journal literature of the social sciences. Represented disciplines include anthropology, business, communication, criminology, demography, ethnic and racial studies, gender studies, history, law, political science, psychology, religion, social psychology, sociology, social work, and urban studies. Search by topic, keyword, or author. Identify articles that cited a previous work. Links to full-text occur when available. Also known as SSCI.
Articles: General Databases
Sometimes articles from scholarly journals in other disciplines may be of use in communication research.
Use the databases below to search journals from other disciplines:
Get full-text access to magazines, newspapers, and scholarly journals in the sciences, social sciences, business, education, and the humanities. Full-text may be available via Find-It. Useful place to begin broad searches for general topics.
QuickSearch combines results from many search tools for you to review in one list. Results come from the Wright State catalog and hundreds of library databases including all of our Ebscohost databases, JSTOR, the Web of Science, and others.
Cover all levels of education from early childhood to higher education and all educational specialties, such as multilingual, health education, and testing, curriculum instruction, administration, policy, funding, and related social issues. Some full-text is included. Other full-text may be available via Find-It.
Tips for Database Searching
Visit the University Libraries Tips for Database Searching Research Guide for techniques and strategies for conducting a successful search: