Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

ENG 3060 - Introduction to Literary Study: Databases

Use this guide to find scholarly articles in literary criticism.

Getting Started

The databases listed below are broken up into three categories: 

Literature Criticism

Background Information

General Discipline


Databases in the Literature Criticism section are best used to locate literary criticism, authors' biographies, lists of literary works, plot summaries, and more.

Databases in the Background Information section are best used to locate general information about literary works, reviews, authors' biographies, contextual information, and more.

Databases in the General Discipline section are best used to locate articles from scholarly articles and journals in other disciplines that can inform the critical writing and analysis process. 


If you're having trouble using a specific database, check out the How-To handout for that specific database, linked at the bottom of the page. You can also reach out to me using the Email Me link and I will do my best to assist you. 

Literary Criticism Databases

Use these databases to find literary criticism, authors' bios, lists of literary works, and plot summaries:

Background Information

Use the databases below to find general information about literary works, reviews, authors' biographies, contextual information, and more:

General Discipline Databases

Sometimes articles from scholarly journals in other disciplines can inform the critical writing you do on literary works. Use the databases below to search journals from other disciplines:

How-To Handouts

Questions? Ask your librarian!

Profile Photo
Kayla Hennis
She/Her/Hers

Ask A Librarian

chat loading...