It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
GEO 4860 Foundations and Methods of Geography: Home
You can use these searching tips for your other classes too.
Article databases and the catalog don't recognize phrase searching, so break your topic into the main keywords or concepts. For example, if your topic is the role of women nurses in World War I, don't type "what was the role of women nurses in World War I" in the search box. Instead, type in "world war i AND women and nurs*" or something similarly structured.
Try to think of as many different ways to describe your topic as you can.
When you find a good article, look at their footnotes or endnotes to see what articles the author read--you might find a few good ones that you can use. See box below for how to find articles when you have a citation.
Use truncation to expand your search results, for example, if you type in "polit*" it will capture politics, political, politicize, etc. Some databases do this automatically, but many do not.
Click on linked author names, subject headings, or any other descriptive terms in book and article descriptions.
How do I find scholarly articles?
Below are suggested article databases where you can find peer-reviewed academic articles. If you have any questions whether an article comes from a peer-reviewed journal, please contact me via the link on the right of this page.
Get full-text access to magazines, newspapers, and scholarly journals in the sciences, social sciences, business, education, and the humanities. Full-text may be available via Find-It. Useful place to begin broad searches for general topics.
Alert: This database will no longer be available as of July 1, 2020.
GeoRef is the most comprehensive database in the geosciences. Contains references to journal articles, books, maps, conference papers, reports, and theses. Coverage of North American geoscience extends back to 1785. Covers other areas of the world since 1933. Full-text may be available via Find-It.
The free GeoRef Preview database contains minimal bibliographic references to preprints and unedited papers recently submitted for publication in geological sciences literature. Edited entries are removed from GeoRef Preview and added to GeoRef. WSU libraries does not currently subscribe to GeoRef, as of Jul 1, 2020.
This option will search a combination of the Clarivate science, social science, and arts and humanities citation databases, and conference citations in science and social science. This option is useful when searching for highly cited interdisciplinary literature.
Indexes environmental studies literature including agriculture, ecosystem ecology, energy, environmental law, technology, marine and freshwater science, natural resources, pollution & waste management, public policy, and urban planning. Coverage begins in the 1950s. Full-text may be available via Find-It.
A comprehensive research index focuses on literature investigating the relationship between human beings and the environment. Includes scholarly journals, general-interest magazines, and government publications.
Indexes research literature across a wide range of disciplines and formats. Use the library connection to gScholar to get more attached full-text articles.
Finding Full-Text for a Known Citation
How would you find the full text for the following citation? This happens most frequently when you look in the footnotes or bibliography of an article--this is a great way to find primary sources on your topic as well.
Zhang, Hua, et al. " The geography of Zambia's customary land: Assessing the prospects for smallholder development." Land Use Policy, 55 (September 2016): 49-60.
Search hundreds of scholarly, subject-specific reference titles in many topic areas, including the arts, business, education, history, the sciences, technology, literature, and the social sciences. Excellent for in-depth overviews of terms or concepts. Search individual e-books or whole collections.