Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

HST 4220/6220 - Russia's People of Empire: Home

More Research Help on ...

HST 4220/6220 - Searching Tips

You can use these searching tips for your other classes too.

  • Article databases and the catalog don't recognize phrase searching, so break your topic into the main keywords or concepts.  For example, if your topic is the effect of the serf emancipation on Russia's political structure, don't type "the effect of the serf empancipation on Russia's politcal structure" in the search box.  Instead, type in "'serf emancipation' AND polit* AND russia" or something similarly structured.

  • When you find a good article, look at their footnotes or endnotes to see what articles the author read--you might find a few good ones that you can use.  See box below for how to find articles when you have a citation. 

  • Use truncation to expand your search results, for example, if you type in "polit*" it will capture politics, political, politicize, etc.  Some databases do this automatically, but many do not. 

  • Click on linked author names, subject headings, or any other descriptive terms in book and article descriptions.

Books

If you need to search for books, there are three options at your disposal: the University Libraries, OhioLINK and WorldCAT catalogs.  If you're having trouble, be sure to contact me.

You find books in catalogs or databases. You can begin with the Wright State catalog. You can also search the OhioLINK catalog if you're having trouble finding books on your topic. If you're searching in the OhioLINK catalog, remember to look under Library Holdings to see if Wright State owns the book before you request it.

You can also find books in a database called WorldCat. WorldCat has all the stuff--books, journals, archives, sound recordings and more!--from most university libraries in the US and others around the world. If you're looking for a book, be sure to put a check here:
worldcat books


When you get your list of results, check to see if the book is in the Wright State library (the green symbol will be there); if you want to see if it's in OhioLINK or if you can request it via Interlibrary Loan, click the "Find It" link.

worldcat request

You will see your options here (click the Find It! button to see if it's in OhioLINK):
worldcat options

Articles

You find articles or article citations in databases.  The ones listed below will have articles or article citations that are most relevant to this class.  Please note that if we do not have the article you need you can request it via Interlibrary Loan, a free service.  Never pay for an article as a student!

IMPORTANT: In the databases below you'll see this button: find it button  or this text: Full Text – Wright State.  If you don't see a link to the full text of the article, click on the Find It button!  It will open a new window or tab in your browser and it will show you if we have the full text of the article through one of our other online databases or if we have the journal that your article is from in print.

If you need to get the print article, be sure to note what volume you need and double-check that we do actually have that exact volume.  Write down ALL the information about the article, including the call number of the journal.  If you don't know where to find the print, someone at the Information Desk will be happy to help you.

Historical Abstracts
Covers history from countries other than the United States and Canada. You can limit by time period in this database.

JSTOR
 Nearly all articles are full text, but the most recent articles will be from about 2006 or so, depending on the journal. Some articles go back to the 19th century.

1. Click on the Advanced Search option below the search box.
2. Put a check mark in the Article box.
3. Type your keywords in the top and then scroll down to put a check mark next to History and/or Slavic Studies journals.
4. Be sure to check the dates on your results! The first hit could be from 1896! You can sort by date if you want.

Arts & Humanities Citation Index
Covers many disciplines; its most important feature is the ability to perform cited reference or author searches.  Contact me for more information about these fun and informative special searches! 

Google Scholar
This is the only free scholarly article database on the list. In order to see if you can get a copy of the article(s) you need, you have to go through the link above if you're off campus. If you don't, the journal publishers whose websites Google Scholar searches have no way of knowing you are a student whose university subscribes to the journal and they'll try to charge you for the articles.

 

Finding the full text of an article when you have the citation

How would you find the full text for the following citation?

Lars T. Lih, “Experts and Peasants,” Kritika: Explorations in Russian and Eurasian History, vol. 2, no. 4 (2001), pp. 803–22

  1. Go to the library catalog and change the drop down menu from Keyword to Journal Title.
  2. Type your journal title (Kritika: Explorations in Russian and Eurasian History) in the box. Do not type your article title in the box.
  3. If WSU owns your journal, see if we have the year, volume, and issue number you need. Note: it might be in electronic form or paper form.
  4. If WSU doesn’t have the journal you want or doesn’t have the year/volume/issue you need, use Interlibrary Loan.

Scholarly Journal Articles

See the guide Scholarly Journals vs. Popular Magazine Articles (from the UTSA Library).  It outlines criteria for determining whether journals are scholarly or popular and defines what is meant by "scholarly" (a.k.a. refereed or peer-reviewed or academic) journals.

Sometimes it's hard to tell what's scholarly and what's not when you're looking at an online article.  Always remember that you can contact me to ask if it is or is not acceptable. 

Ask A Librarian

Subject Guide

Ran Raider's picture
Ran Raider
Contact:
Dunbar Library 120
(937) 775-3521