Skip to main content

HST 7830 - Historic Preservation: Home

Resources to assist with structure and historic preservation research

Location and Hours

 

Special Collections & Archives
401 Dunbar Library
Wright State University Libraries
3640 Colonel Glenn Hwy.
Dayton, OH 45435-0001
library-archives@wright.edu
(937) 775-2092
Monday-Friday 8:30am-5pm
Wednesdays until 9pm

Special Collections & Archives

Special Collections & Archives collects and preserves material related to the Wright Brothers, aviation, the history of the Miami Valley, and Wright State University. Our Miami Valley material dates back to the early 1800s and includes letters, diaries, family records, church records, business records, photographs, and so much more. In addition, we collect local government records for 11 counties in central, southwest Ohio. The county materials often include records for the children's home, county home (infirmary), common pleas court, probate court, sheriff, and township/city records. Please visit the SC&A web site for more information on the archives and collections. 

Our reading room has city directories for Dayton, Springfield, Xenia, and other surrounding towns as well as a large collection of county maps and published local history, genealogy, professional, and aviation resources that can provide secondary sources for your research. We also have the original Sanborn Fire Insurance Maps for Dayton, 1918-1954, and Springfield, 1928-1952.

The Dayton Daily News Archive (MS-458) is comprised of the newspaper's photograph and clipping files primarily covering the 1940s-1990s. Included are photographs and clippings for building, homes, businesses, churches, factories, streets, neighborhoods, towns, cities, and personalities. This collection is stored off-site, so please contact to check to see what is available. 

Historic Preservation Materials at SC&A

SC&A holds extensive materials to assist with historic preservation and building research. We have architectural collections, local government records, business records, photographs, correspondence, maps, city directories, and other items. 

Listed below are examples of some of our collections that may aid with your research projects and building research in general. The links are to the finding aids or collection guides for each collection. You will need to visit the SC&A reading room to view the material. Please note that the DDN Archive (MS-458) and many of the architectural collections are stored at an off-site location. Please email or call the archives in advance to request the material. 

Online Resources for Historic Preservation

Local and State Resources

Archivist/Reference and Outreach

Bill Stolz's picture
Bill Stolz
Contact:
Dunbar Library 401
(937) 775-2232

Ask an Archivist

chat loading...