Skip to main content

NUR 3200 - Health, Wellness, and Diversity Within Families: Culture/Ethnicity Articles (Tools & Tips)

Librarian-recommended resources to help you with your assignments for NUR 3200.

Cultural Assessment and Multidisciplinary Articles - Databases to help find articles about various cultures and other subject disciplines outside of nursing

Click on a database name to search it.

Tips for Finding Articles on Particular Cultures/Ethnic Groups

For articles, use QuickSearch or any of the other databases listed in the box above.  (Apply the date limiter when using QuickSearch).

If you use JSTOR, be aware of the dates.  JSTOR tends to cover culture well because it covers anthropology and other social sciences, but it has a lot of old articles because it is a journal backfile.

You can also use CINAHL if you are focusing on health-related issues. PsycINFO might also be a good place to search for any aspects related to psychology, but for the other topics, it is a good idea to stay with QuickSearch since the other topics are not strictly health care related.

Note: QuickSearch finds both books and articles.  If you are looking for articles, you can use the check box on the left for Scholarly (Peer-Reviewed) Journals. If you are struggling to find relevant and current scholarly articles in QuickSearch, contact the Nursing Librarian for suggestions about how you might broaden your search.  The search term combinations below are just examples.  They may work for some ethnic groups and cultures but not for others.

 

Search on your topic or ethnic group:

 

For some groups, there may be relatively few results for the specific aspect you are trying to search, so you may need to broaden your search by dropping out certain keywords.  You should try to think of other terminology that might be useful for your searching (caps don’t matter in the databases):

"Irish American*" or "Irish immigrant*" or ("first generation Irish") or ("second generation Irish") or ("third generation irish") or (Irish and health and "united states”)

For instance, if your topic were Filipino Americans, don’t just search Filipino Americans, you should also try your search on Filipinos. 

Filipinos or filipino american*

Along with your search on the group, use other terminology for the topics that may be described in your syllabus or rubric.

I’ve listed several keywords I’ve run across in previous searches that might help you. You may have to do some brainstorming on your own or try different combinations of keywords to determine which of them work best for your particular group.  They don’t all work equally well for every culture.

If any of your searches for dimensions are getting strange results, adding and cultur*  to the same search may help narrow it and make it more relevant. You can also try words like cross-cultural or transcultural in the search.

The examples below are NOT intended to be all-inclusive or comprehensive

Depending on your professor's expectations, your papers or presentation  MAY require some of the elements below, but this is NOT a definitive or exhaustive list of the elements every section of NUR 3200 is required to include.  If your assignments require these elements, you can use these keywords, but you may also be required to research other elements not listed here.  It may also be necessary to brainstorm additional keywords for the elements that are listed here.

Before you start searching, always carefully check your syllabus and assignment rubrics so you understand what is expected of you for the assignment.  Your professor may have provided some useful synonyms for the concepts you are expected to address.  If so, these can be used as keywords.  Even if synonyms are not provided, being familiar with the requirements of the assignment will allow you to brainstorm more useful search terms.

Potential Keywords for Communicaton

Communication

Communication style*

Communication method*

Communication preference*

Nonverbal or non-verbal

“body language”

Vocal tone

Gestures

 

(Filipino* or Filipino American*) and (communication or “body language” or non-verbal or voice or vocal tone or voice volume or language or silence) and cultur*

 

You can also separate these out into different searches to try to make your retrievals more manageable.  For example:

 

(Filipino* or Filipino American*) and (“body language” or non-verbal communication)

 

Potential Keywords for Space

Personal space

Inter-personal space

Interpersonal space

interpersonal proximity

personal proximity

crowding

spatial behavior

Search example: (Filipino* or Filipino American*) and (“personal space” or personal proximity or inter-personal space or interpersonal space) and (cultur* or cross-cultural)

If you try searching the various terms above along with the name of your heritage/culture (or the country name and you still don’t get anything, you might try searching for the name of the country or heritage in the ALL TEXT field. This allows the database to look for the word in the full text of the article, if available.

 

Potential Keywords for Time

Time orientation

Time perspective  [This may work if time orientation does not]

Temporal orientation (or perspective)

Future orientation (or perspective)

Past orientation

Present orientation

 

Search example: (Filipino* or Filipino American*) and time orientation [no quotes]

Biological Variations (Search Examples)

Searching on biological variation  as a search term is unlikely to yield any results.  Before searching on this concept, check your textbook or other course readings to get an understanding of what is meant by biological variation in the context of this course and brainstorm keywords related to those concepts.  Below is one possible example other terms (in bold type) that may relate to biological variation.  If you are still uncertain, talk to your professor.

(Filipino* or Filipino American*) and (genetic* or heredit*) and (disease or susceptib* or risk* or diet or nutrition or psycholog*)

Note: You can add and nurs* to this search if you want to narrow down to nursing-related articles.

(Filipino* or Filipino American*) and (genetic* or heredit*) and (disease or susceptib* or risk* or diet or nutrition or psycholog*) and nurs*

The words genetic and heredity tend to pick up articles about genetic molecular analysis—or sometimes even veterinary articles, so narrowing the search to nurs* might be particularly helpful for that dimension.  However, if you already know a disease or health risk that is relevant to your ethnic group, you can search on that specific condition.

Again, you can separate the hereditary factors, psychological factors, and nutritional factors into different searches if you’d like your results to be a bit more focused and manageable.

Environmental Control (Search Examples)

Again, check your course readings or other course materials to make sure you understand what the concept or environmental control encompasses and brainstorm keywords that relate to that.  Searching "environmental control" as a phrase will NOT be helpful.

(Filipino* or Filipino American*) and (health or illness or disease or environment* or health disparit*)

filipino american* and (perception* or belief*) and (health or illness* or disease*)

Searches on “environmental control can be done broadly in QuickSearch, but you might also try CINAHL to see if it is addressed in the healthcare literature.

Searching for Social Organization

Social organization covers a lot of ground, so although you can search the word “social” as part of your strategy, it may be too broad.  In that case, you can try a number of other words too. (For example, work, famil* relationship*, etc.). Religion* or spirituality might be a more inclusive way to search than “church”.

More research guides

Browse all research guides (guides for other relevant subjects such as medicine, anatomy, education, and psychology)

Or use these related research guides:

Questions?
Ask your librarian!

Ask A Librarian

JavaScript disabled or chat unavailable.