Skip to main content

NUR 3300 - Foundations of Research and Evidence-Based Practice: * Search Videos - CINAHL

Librarian-recommended resources to help you find the best available evidence.

Navigation

The CENTER column contains videos and other content to help you with your search.  Please scroll down to see all available content. Links to the library databases are along the left side. For most clinical questions, it is important to search CINAHL and PubMed at mininum. If you have a psychology or mental health-related question/topic, it is also a good idea to search PsycINFO.

Database Links - Appropriate Library Databases for a Literature Review

When searching for individual research studies in healthcare, CINAHL and PubMed should be used. CINAHL is the major database for nursing and allied health literature.  PubMed is a way to search MEDLINE, the major database of literature in the biomedical sciences.

Google and Google Scholar are NOT sufficient for doing a good literature search in health care, although you can use Google Scholar to supplement your searches in subject specific databases.

Contents of this column

This column contains 4 videos: 3 are recommended; 1 is optional.

CINAHL: Keyword Searching Using PICO (length: 2:43)

CINAHL: Broadening Your Search (length: 3:05)

CINAHL: Using Subject Headings (length: 2:47)

OPTIONAL - (VIDEO) CINAHL - MeSH/Subject Heading Searching from EBSCO Support (length: 3:32)

This video from EBSCO shows how to start searching CINAHL Subject Headings from scratch.  It does not use a PICO question example, but you can use the same process to identify subject headings for any of the keyword elements of your PICO(T) question.

Questions?
Ask your librarian!

Ximena Chrisagis's picture
Ximena Chrisagis
Contact:
Dunbar Library 120
(937) 775-3516

Ask A Librarian

JavaScript disabled or chat unavailable.