Online reference sources: good for a broad overview of the country and culture
CIA World Factbook
The World Factbook by Publication Date: 2021The World Factbook provides basic information on the history, people, government, economy, energy, geography, environment, communications, transportation, military, terrorism, and transnational issues for 266 world entities.
Published online by the CIA annually, but updated weekly. The FAQs contain additional information about how countries and regions are listed and how the source may be used.
Countries, Peoples, and Cultures (ebook series)
Provides insight into the social, cultural, economic, historical, and religious practices of countries around the world.
Vol. 6: Countries, Peoples & Cultures: Eastern & Southern Africa by ISBN: 9781619257832Publication Date: 2015
Other
Worldmark Encyclopedia of the Nations by
ISBN: 9781414490908Publication Date: 2012Presents easy-to-understand information on countries and dependencies from around the world. Entries discuss a variety of topics in detail, from banking and securities to climate, from government data to demographic statistics. Also includes biographical essays on national leaders.
Worldmark Encyclopedia of Cultures and Daily Life by ISBN: 9781414448824Publication Date: 2009v. 1. Africa -- v. 2. Americas -- v. 3-v. 4. Asia & Oceania -- v. 5. Europe
Provides information on the cultures of the world, covering different areas of daily life including clothing, food, language and religion.
Tip - Books, Encyclopedias, Videos, & More
For books, book chapters, government documents, and videos about Tanzania, try the "catalog search" links below. If you need to narrow down your results, you might try adding keywords to your search (for example, history).
The catalog allows you to limit your results to "online resources", if desired.
Having trouble? Ask for help using one of the options at right.
- Keyword search on "Tanzania" in the WSU Libraries CatalogIncludes books, book chapters, government documents, and videos that mention Tanzania. Many of these are paper books on the shelf in the Dunbar Library, but several are e-books or PDF files. Also includes links to streaming videos. (Results are sorted by most recent first).
- Subject Heading search of "Tanzania" in WSU Libraries CatalogYou must click on a subject heading in order to see the materials available on that subject.
Databases to help find scholarly articles about Tanzanian culture
Click on a database name to search it.
Remember, culture is a very broad term that encompasses many different characteristics. You can use the word cultur* in your search (the * after the "r" picks up culture, cultures, or cultural), but you should consider searching on more specific aspects of culture: custom*/tradition*, social/society/societal, economic, education, language, etc.
- QuickSearch This link opens in a new windowSearch many library resources at once. A good starting point for the culture-related articles because it pulls sources from a number of different databases and disciplines. Easily narrow your retrievals by using the limiting options to the left side of your list of results. Adding more search terms to your search will also narrow your retrievals.
- Education Research Complete This link opens in a new windowIf dealing with issues related to education, this is a good place to start. Covers kindergarten through college.
- Historical Abstracts This link opens in a new windowJournal articles, books, and more on the history of the world from 1450 to the present (excluding the United States and Canada, which are covered in America: History and Life).
- JSTOR This link opens in a new windowJSTOR has full text for journals going back to the 19th century and ending only 2-5 years from the present. Often good for anthropology, ethnology, and history articles. Click "Advanced Search" under the single search blank to get additional search blanks.
- Political Science Complete This link opens in a new windowFull text for more than 550 journals, along with indexing and abstracting for over 2,900, including top-ranked scholarly journals. Also provides over 340 full-text reference books and monographs, and over 38,000 full-text conference papers, including those of the International Political Science Association.
- APA PsycINFO This link opens in a new windowPsychology article database, often good for locating articles related to ethnicity and culture.
- SocINDEX This link opens in a new window
- Social Sciences Citation Index This link opens in a new windowA great database that covers all kinds of the social sciences. You can limit by disciplines if you wish to focus on one or a few.
- Google Scholar This link opens in a new windowBe sure to go through this link if you're using Google Scholar off campus otherwise you'll be asked to pay for articles.
Ask Us
Questions?
Ask your librarian!
More research guides
Browse all research guides (guides for other relevant subjects such as medicine, anatomy, education, and psychology)
Or use these related research guides:
- Urban AffairsGood resources on cities and countries to help with cultural assessment.