It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
NUR 7005 - Nursing Research and Evidence for Practice: * Search Videos - Cochrane Library
A guide to help you locate the best evidence for clinical questions.
The CENTER column contains videos and other content to help you with your search. Please scroll down to see all available content. Links to the library databases are along the left side. For most clinical questions, it is important to search CINAHL and PubMed at mininum. If you have a psychology or mental health-related question/topic, it is also a good idea to search PsycINFO.
Database Links - Appropriate Databases for a Literature Review
When searching for individual research studies in healthcare, PubMed and CINAHL should be used. Google and Google Scholar are NOT sufficient for doing a good literature search in health care, although you can use Google Scholar to supplement your searches in subject specific databases.
Alert:This database is no longer available as of 12/31/2021.
The Cochrane Database of Systematic Reviews (CDSR) is the leading journal and database for systematic reviews in health care. CDSR includes Cochrane Reviews (systematic reviews) and protocols for Cochrane Reviews as well as editorials and supplements.
Temporary access to this database and its contents has been provided through OhioLINK and the Governor’s Emergency Education Relief (GEER) funds to bridge COVID-created gaps in higher education instructional materials and library resources. This database will be available through December 31, 2021.
PubMed provides free access to the National Library of Medicine’s (NLM) premier database – MEDLINE. Content is citations and abstracts from national and international journals covering all aspects of biomedicine including allied health and other fields as they relate to medicine or healthcare.
Indexes psychology literature and related disciplines including psychiatry, medicine, nursing, pharmacology, cognitive science, and linguistics. Includes journals and book chapters. Use Historic PsycINFO to identify literature published as early as the 1920s. Links occur to full-text when available.
...if relevant (They may be relevant if your question relates to other disciplines such as education or business, etc.)
Content in this column
This column contains 2 text boxes (both recommended) and 2 videos (1 recommended and 1 optional).
Start with the Cochrane Library
In many cases, it does not matter which database you search first. However, when it comes to evidence-based practice, your goal is to find the highest level of evidence available to you. Since systematic reviews are the highest level of evidence, and since the Cochrane Library uses very rigorous protocols to produce its systematic reviews, it is a good idea to search the Cochrane Library first. Cochrane Reviews also serve as a good source of references to primary research articles on the topic. Although you will likely find many of these references when you search other databases, there are likely to be relevant references that you have not seen elsewhere.
Keep a Record of Your Search Strategies, Number of Retrievals, and "Keeper" Studies
Keep track of your search strategy and the number of references you find and then choose to retain from each search. All library databases provide a search history that shows your exact search strategy, the limiters you used, and the number of results the search retrieved. You can copy and paste this information into a Word document and/or do a screen capture of it to have a record of your exact search terms and how many results it got at the time you ran the search. Obviously, you will have to keep your own record of the number of results you decided to keep.
It is also a good idea to record the citations of your "keeper" references in a Word document, Excel spreadsheet, or free bibliographic management software (such as Mendeley or Zotero).
Cochrane Library: Example PICO(T) Question Keyword Search (length: 3:58)
OPTIONAL - Clinical Trials in the Cochrane Library (length: 3:49)