It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
NUR 7005 - Nursing Research and Evidence for Practice: Home
A guide to help you locate the best evidence for clinical questions.
ALL available videos are included in the center column of this page, both the recommended and the optional videos. Optional videos are clearly labelled in OPTIONAL in the box title. You may find it more helpful if you access these videos using the separate tabs labelled with * instead (that is, the "SEARCH TIPS" and each of the 4 "SEARCH VIDEO" tabs) separately, where the recommended content is listed above the optional content. You only need to use APA PsycINFO if your clinical question is related to behavioral or mental health.
When searching for individual research studies in healthcare, PubMed and CINAHL should be used. Google and Google Scholar are NOT sufficient for doing a good literature search in health care, although you can use Google Scholar to supplement your searches in subject specific databases.
Alert:This database is no longer available as of 12/31/2021.
The Cochrane Database of Systematic Reviews (CDSR) is the leading journal and database for systematic reviews in health care. CDSR includes Cochrane Reviews (systematic reviews) and protocols for Cochrane Reviews as well as editorials and supplements.
Temporary access to this database and its contents has been provided through OhioLINK and the Governor’s Emergency Education Relief (GEER) funds to bridge COVID-created gaps in higher education instructional materials and library resources. This database will be available through December 31, 2021.
PubMed provides free access to the National Library of Medicine’s (NLM) premier database – MEDLINE. Content is citations and abstracts from national and international journals covering all aspects of biomedicine including allied health and other fields as they relate to medicine or healthcare.
Indexes psychology literature and related disciplines including psychiatry, medicine, nursing, pharmacology, cognitive science, and linguistics. Includes journals and book chapters. Use Historic PsycINFO to identify literature published as early as the 1920s. Links occur to full-text when available.
...if relevant (They may be relevant if your question relates to other disciplines such as education or business, etc.)
AJN Series: Evidence-Based Practice: Step by Step
These persistent links allow Wright State University users to access these articles through WSU's subscription to AJN. Note: If off campus, you will be prompted for your campus w number and password before being taken to the article.
This collection of articles was authored by faculty from the Arizona State University College of Nursing and Health Innovation's Center for the Advancement of Evidence-Based Practice and published in the American Journal of Nursing (AJN)
Strategies for Effective Searching, Part 1 (length: 4:37)
Strategies for Effective Searching, Part 2 (length: 6:08)
Cochrane Library: Example PICO(T) Question Keyword Search (length: 3:58)
OPTIONAL - Clinical Trials in the Cochrane Library (length: 3:49)
CINAHL: Keyword Searching Using PICO (length: 2:43)
CINAHL: Broadening Your Search (length: 3:05)
OPTIONAL - CINAHL - MeSH/Subject Heading Searching from EBSCO Support (length: 3:32)
This video from EBSCO shows how to start searching CINAHL Subject Headings from scratch. It does not use a PICO question example, but you can use the same process to identify subject headings for any of the keyword elements of your PICO(T) question.
Training Course (from the NLM): Using PubMed in Evidence-Based Practice
When conducting research, evidence-based practice is a method for framing clinical questions that will help yield optimal search results. PubMed is a free research tool from the National Library of Medicine®. This course will show you how to use evidence-based practice when searching clinical questions using PubMed®.
Note: To search PubMed®, please use Wright State's link for PubMed rather than the PubMed.gov® URL. This will ensure that you can access WSU and OhioLINK subscriptions to full text articles.
The scenarios used in this tutorial are geared toward nurses, but the tips for how to develop search strategies can transfer to any clinical scenario.
NLM PubMed Interactive Tutorial: Find Articles on a Topic (approximate length: 1:00)
Tutorial credit: U.S. National Library of Medicine
NLM PubMed Interactive Tutorial: PubMed Subject Search: How It Works (approximate length: 4:00)
Tutorial credit: U.S. National Library of Medicine
OPTIONAL - Use MeSH to Build a Better PubMed Query (from NCBI)
This National Center for Biotechnology Information (NCBI) video demonstrates how to build a search from scratch using MeSH. Although it is not a search on a PICO(T) question, the same process can be used to determine if there are relevant Medical Subject Headings for your population, intervention, comparison, and/or outcome.
Mental Health-related topics only - Sample PsycINFO Search and How (and Why) to Use the APA Thesaurus When Searching PsycINFO via EBSCOhost
You can preform a keyword/phrase search of PsycINFO using the PICO elements of your question as the search concepts, but you could also make your search more relevant by using subject headings for each aspect of your PICO question.
Although keyword and phrase searching often works well for PICO questions, it may not be enough to identify all the most relevant and current evidence for every clinical question or topic. You may have to do a subject headings search.
This video demonstrates how to search the PsycINFO indexing terms (also known as the thesaurus). This process performs the same function as using CINAHL Subject Headings in CINAHL or Medical Subject Headings in PubMed, although the indexing terms used from database to database can vary even if you are searcing the same topic.
Mental health-related topics only - Using the Methodology Limiter in PsycINFO on EBSCOHost
Demonstrates ways to limit to specific types of research methodologies in PsycINFO.