Skip to main content

NUR 7106 - Advanced Practice of Family Nursing: Models & Theories

Librarian-recommended resources to help you with your assignments for NUR 7106.

More research guides

Browse all research guides (guides for other relevant subjects such as medicine, anatomy, education, and psychology)

Or use these related research guides:

Need help?

About this page

The information on the center column of this page is intended to help give you some potential tips and tricks for identifying relevant models and theories from the literature. 

It is not exhaustive or relevant for all topics and circumstances.  If you still need more help, please contact Nursing Librarian Ximena Chrisagis or the Dunbar Library Information Desk using one of the methods at right.

Ximena normally responds to e-mail the same day.  If you send e-mail and do not receive a response within 24 hours, please try again because your message may have been inadvertently missed.

 

Identify or Find Articles about a Family Model, Theory, or Framework Using CINAHL

As the primary index for the nursing literature, CINAHL is the place to begin your search for articles if you are using a nurse's theory or model.  If someone who is not a nurse proposed the theory, start by checking the primary literature index for that particular theorist's discipline (e.g., psychology or education).  Use the Subject List of Databases to find appropriate databases for disciplines other than nursing.

Many of the mainline nursing theories have their own subject headings in CINAHL.  If a subject heading for the theory exists, you can usually find it by checking the "Suggest Subject Terms" box and then typing the theorist's last name in the top search blank. Searching a theory as a Major Subject Heading or Major Concept (MM) will retrieve articles that provide details about the theory itself.  Citations that include the theory name as a Minor Subject Heading indicate articles in which the theory has been applied in the research.

If you don't find a subject heading for your specific theory or model, you can try various combinations of the following broad major subject headings:

Each of these terms on their own retrieve thousands of results; add relevant keyword(s), phrase(s), or name(s) to the search using AND to narrow it down--such as famil*  . [Famil* will pick up the keyword "family" or "families"].

(The plus sign means they have been exploded to include any more specific terms classified under the broad heading).

REMINDER: To retrieve a larger number of results from your search, click the Find Itlink in CINAHL rather than selecting EBSCO's "linked full text" limit.  Using EBSCO's "linked full text limit" on the left actually eliminates much of the full text you would otherwise be able to access as a Wright State student.  Often, FindIt! contains a link to the full text of the article available through one of WSU's institutional subscriptions.  "Find It" also includes the interlibrary loan link so that you can request the article for free from another library if WSU doesn't have it at all.  (Please allow at least a week for processing and delivery if you are requesting an article through interlibrary loan).

Identify or Find Articles about a Family Model, Theory, or Framework Using PsycInfo

As the primary index for the psychology literature, PsycInfo is also a very relevant place to search if you are looking for a theory, model, or conceptual frame work related to families. Remember, there is always more than one way to search any article database.  The link below is only one example of a search strategy that brings up articles about family theories and models.  (Please contact the Nursing Librarian if you need help with additional search strategies to identify a theory, model, or framework. 

NOTE: Clicking this link will automatically run the search for you in the PsycInfo database, and it should also already be set to limit the results to English.  However, this search is NOT limited by date.  If off- campus, you will first be prompted to login with your name and UID.This search also retrieves thousands of results.  You will have to add other more specific keywords to the empty search blanks in order to make your retrievals more specific to your topic.

For instance, if you were interested in theories or models that might be relevant to chronic illness within families, you could add the phrase "chronic illness" to one of the empty search blanks--then run the search again.

The search strategy above finds articles that mention the keywords theory, theories, theoretical, concept, concepts, concepual, framework, frameworks, model, OR models in the TITLE of the article.  In addition to those keywords, it also finds citations in which the word family OR families is mentioned in the SAME article.

REMINDER: To retrieve a larger number of results from your search, click the Find It link in PsycINFO rather than selecting EBSCO's "linked full text" limit.  Using EBSCO's "linked full text limit" on the left actually eliminates much of the full text you would otherwise be able to access as a Wright State student.  Often, FindIt! contains a link to the full text of the article available through one of WSU's institutional subscriptions.  "Find It" also includes the interlibrary loan link so that you can request the article for free from another library if WSU doesn't have it at all.  (Please allow at least a week for processing and delivery if you are requesting an article through interlibrary loan).

Questions?
Ask your librarian!

Ask A Librarian

JavaScript disabled or chat unavailable.