This is the "WSU Libraries eBooks" page of the "eBooks" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

eBooks   Tags: books, ebooks, mobile_devices  

Finding eBooks in the library collection; borrowing eBook readers
Last Updated: May 1, 2013 URL: http://guides.libraries.wright.edu/ebooks Print Guide ShareThis

WSU Libraries eBooks Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

What are eBooks?

What are eBooks?  eBooks are electronic versions of print books. 

Does WSUL have eBooks?  WSU Libraries has thousands of eBooks covering a variety of fields and topics. 

How do I find the WSUL eBooks?  eBook titles can be searched in the catalog where a link to the full text of the ebook will be available.  Users may also choose to go directly to one of our eBook collections where specific types of ebooks are grouped together.  We have collections of reference materials, technical manuals, early English books, and more.  Many of our titles will be available in the OhioLINK eBook collection (EBC) which offers a variety of eBook types in one location. 

Do I need to set-up an account?  If you would like to download an eBook from an ebrary or EBSCO collection you will need to establish an account.  Other collections may also require and account, but there are no charges for these materials. (watch a short video of downloading ebooks from EBSCO)

Why can't I read the eBook, it says "in use."  Due to our licensing agreements with publishers, many of the eBooks in our collections are limited to one user at a time. Often you will be prompted to be placed on a hold list for the next available copy.

If you need more assistance with eBooks, please Ask a Librarian.

 

Find eBooks

To limit your search results to eBooks only, click on the dropdown box for "view entire collection" and change it to "e-Books."  Caution, the content on the WSU eBook readers will not display using this method.  For that content, use the eReaders tab on this guide.

Advanced Catalog Search

WSU eBook Collections

AccessEmergency Medicine  A multifaceted resource for medical students, emergency medicine residents, and physicians. The content includes procedures – the complete text of Reichman’s Emergency Medicine Procedures; textbooks such as Tintinalli’s Emergency Medicine: A Comprehesive Study Guide, Emergency Ultrasound, Pediatric Emergency Medicine, Emergency Orthopedics, and Obstetric and Gynecologic Emergencies; images and videos and a drug database

AccessMedicine  Dozens of online medical texts such as Harrison's Principles of Internal Medicine, Current Diagnosis and Treatment, and the Lange Educational Library

AccessSurgery  Online surgical texts such as Schwartz’s Principles of Surgery, Current Surgical Diagnosis and Treatment, Maingot’s Abdominal Operations, and Zollinger’s Atlas of Surgical Operations

American & English Literature Contains many works of poetry, drama and prose from the 16th through 20th centuries.

ClincalKey  ClinicalKey is a full-text source for clinical medical information. It features content from medical texts, reference books and journals, several of the "Clinics of North America" series, video demonstrations, clinical practice guidelines, drug information, patient education handouts, and medical news updates. Searching can be done across the entire database, or within a single publication type, e.g., reference books.

Early English Books Online (EEBO)   From the first book published in English through the age of Spenser and Shakespeare, this collection now contains about 100,000 of over 125,000 titles listed in Pollard & Redgraves Short-Title Catalogue (1475-1640) and Wings Short-Title Catalogue (1641-1700) and their revised editions, as well as the Thomason Tracts (1640-1661) collection and the Early English Books Tract Supplement.

eBooks on EBSCOhost Over 30,000 electronic books on numerous subjects, including business reference works.  Titles may be downloaded to Adobe Digital Editions compatible eReader devices.  Watch a short video on how to download eBooks.

ebrary Over 300 titles covering all disciplines.  Titles may be downloaded to Adobe Digital Editions compatible eReader devices.

Eighteenth Century Collections Online (ECCO)  A comprehensive digitization project which has aimed to include every significant English-language and foreign-language title printed in the United Kingdom, along with thousands of important works from the Americas, between 1701 and 1800. Consists of books, pamphlets, broadsides, ephemera.

Gale Virtual Reference Library  Start your research paper here with background information.  Hundreds of reference titles in many topic areas. Search individual e-books or whole collections.

OhioLINK Electronic Books Collection  Thousands of full-text books from the publishers Springer, Oxford University Press, and reference books from ABC-Clio. Covers the sciences, social sciences, and humanities.

Oxford Reference Books  Search various encyclopedias and other reference books by subject, including foreign language dictionaries, computing, literature, politics, and social sciences.

Oxford Scholarship Online  Search the full text of over 1,200 Oxford books in the areas of economics and finance, philosophy, political science, and religion.

Palgrave  Online versions of books published by Palgrave Macmillan from 2000-2010. More than 7,300 titles in the social sciences and humanities.

Safari Books Online  A collection of online books covering software help manuals--including O'Reilly books--artificial intelligence, computer science, IT management; software engineering, and much more.

SAGE Reference Online  A collection of multivolume subject encyclopedias in the social sciences.  These scholarly articles are great for background information and putting a topic in context.

Subject Guide

Profile Image
Sue Polanka
Head of Reference & Instruction
Contact Info
328 Dunbar Library
Wright State University Libraries
3640 Colonel Glenn Hwy.
Dayton, Ohio 45435
937-775-3142
Send Email
 

Ask a Librarian

JavaScript disabled or chat unavailable.
Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip